Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Scholarships

Scholarships A place to find out about scholarships available for Malaysians

Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

fnabila91 Female

#51 Old 16-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Originally Posted by syazanazura View Post
First stage done. Hello to everyone whom I met during the first session today Good luck to those who will be doing their interviews this evening, tomorrow or Wednesday(:
Hi syaza, how was it? can u tell me a bit
fnabila91 is offline   Reply With Quote
neoalien

#52 Old 16-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Originally Posted by wongwuchu View Post
Thanks..hopefully they will call..what course did u apply for neoalien?
I applied for Accounting in Australia. Hopefully can get ba!

I have a few questions to everyone:

1. Do we need to certify all our photocopied materials? I may not have the time to go to school and get it done by Wednesday.

2. Did you all include photostated I/C as well?

3. For results, (undergraduate applicants) what results to bring? PMR, SPM and College results enough already right?

Last edited by neoalien; 16-04-2012 at 02:50 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
neoalien is offline   Reply With Quote
frostbyte13 Male

#53 Old 16-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Hello people Done mine too. First interview was awesome, really great panel. I got panel 3, and my interview was scheduled on 11:30am. Don't know who I met today who was from ReCom but appreciate if you do recognize me here. I was Andrew; the guy with a white shirt, slacks, wearing glasses and a silver tie.

Here's my contribution to the rest of you who have not gone through it. You definitely need to be there earlier but you will end up waiting long. I ended being called 1 hour later than my slotted time. But it was well spent talking with the rest of the candidates shortlisted. Quite a huge number of pre-university candidates (most applied for Law and Business) and I only met a few undergraduate applicants today. (I was the only Economics applicant, the rest were either Law or Accounting/Finance). Here's a rough, from the top of my head recount of the experience. Hope it helps.

Word of caution is that if you are not familiar with getting to this place, do come and scout it here. Met someone there who said she got lost for 2 hours finding this place. Public transport is also kinda limited, so do carpool if it's possible. If you are coming with your parents, the parking is free but WOAH. The parking basement is very disorganized and confusing After that, head to G floor and check in with the security there. You'll need to hand in your IC to them to be granted a visitor's pass. The place is really spectacular in architecture; use the time to chill and just admire it. When you are called, a person would escort you to the first floor to meet in a gathering room with the rest of the shortlisted applicants. Before that, you will need to sign on a list to confirm your attendance and later sign again for finishing (Don't forget! I almost forgot to sign out). You will be in the same room with pre-university and undergraduate applicants together. Please don't make it socially awkward for everyone else or become anti-social with your gadgets and stuff. Mix around, connect, learn and have fun I really enjoyed talking with lots of different people from different backgrounds. Nervous? Seriously, CHILL OUT. It's just an interview, and the panels are all very nice people. They are smart and professional but they are just there to assess you. Not to toy with your intellect or downplay you. Most important thing, SMILE My panel were smiling and laughing all the way, I joined in too.

Please remember courtesy and manners. I forgot to knock on the door, but I wished the panel a good day and shook their hands. My interview really turned out to be a chit chat session. Lots of questions were pertaining to my essay (I spammed and elaborated my extracurricular because I did not want them to assess whether I honestly wrote if I were to write stuff on Economics that I did not read up), my personal qualities, some basic situational based questions based on your answers, what other scholarships you have applied for and why securities commission. Among other questions were like what do you think you can offer to securities commission, what do you understand it's function (please read this up and find out who is the current director; it's kinda shameful if you did not), what kind of person you think of yourself and how do you think you can serve SC through your knowledge and expertise with this scholarship.

Some of my unique questions were regarding my extracurricular (I mentioned a lot that I was active in varsity and church activities; and they saw my subject load in A-level was equally heavy) and how did I choose between which was more important. They also asked me how did I cope with balancing my studies and having an active lifestyle. Another one was why the sudden change from a science-stream student (SPM) to arts-stream (A-level) and why still have an interest in Science subjects that do not relate to Economics. They also wanted me to elaborate about my varsity extracurricular more because I briefly touched it in my essay. I even told them I was not feeling well and that on the day they called me to notify, that I was having an examination. They were surprised why was that so and we chatted on that too. They told me to take it easy with my studies and have a balance; seems they can't understand why we youngsters overdo it with our studies to the cost of sacrificing our health. That was really awesome because I saw genuine concern in my panels, and not just some examiners there. A funny question I got was whether I found the SC website informative enough to explain to me the functions of SC. I laughed and had to admit yes (honestly) because their website actually summarizes everything to something short and sweet and proceeded to explain how internet readers like myself do not like reading long texts.

Finally, we ended and they asked if I had any other questions. Please do keep some reasonably good questions to ask or you'll end up like some of us who asked and were told to Google up. According to past experiences by previous ReCom scholars, they asked things like how much weight was put on the essays and other factors, when will they be informed whether they are shortlisted for the next stage and how long do they need to be bonded. I asked two questions but had lengthy replies from them (which I perceived as a good sign they were responsive, as they really looked at me with interest when I was speaking and writing down). I asked if I applied for undergraduate local but had overseas offers, which would SC be more willing to sponsor and I also asked what do we do at the award ceremony and were there any post-award opportunities to meet with scholars and former scholars. After everything, I thanked them for the time and shook their hands, taking my leave to the waiting room. Funny thing; I brought in my folder of original certs and they DID NOT EVEN ONCE asked about it or flipped through it. They each have a folder with your online application, so I suppose you should come in free handed unless specified.

You will be however required to show your originals and photostated copies to the receptionist outside the gathering room. If they are all certified, they won't be bothered much to check all to be sure. They only want to be certain your SPM results are correct that's all. There was breakfast served for those who came early and lunch for the panels and interviewees. After my interview, all the panels (there were about 3 panels in total) adjourned for lunch and I seriously wished I had a chance to join in and talk with them. SUCH FRIENDLY PEOPLE haha. I had to leave cause my dad was waiting for me like hours already and we were both hungry already. Anyway, a lengthy summary but I've bolded the questions in case you are not interested to read the full story. Hope the rest of you had it as fun as I did. Remember, SMILE, CHILL AND SOCIALIZE

PS, judging from past scholar experiences, the results will be released in about 1 week ++ from now. Do update everyone in ReCom if you have received to prevent some of us from being kept in the dark ya. Cheers people

Originally Posted by neoalien View Post
I applied for Accounting in Australia. Hopefully can get ba!

I have a few questions to everyone:

1. Do we need to certify all our photocopied materials? I may not have the time to go to school and get it done by Wednesday.

2. Did you all include photostated I/C as well?

3. For results, (undergraduate applicants) what results to bring? PMR, SPM and College results enough already right?

1. I saw someone giving the receptionist to certify what looked like an blank certificate. I suppose they will certify for you if do not make it in time. My friend's sister who works closely with HR and my mother who also works closely with the HR tell me scholarship panels usually give you the benefit of the doubt for certificates. Honestly, if you committed fraud you can't escape the verification process the entire time. What's more, if they want you, they will definitely call you back to sort it all out later; nothing wrong with that.

2. YES. They said EVERY DOCUMENT YOU SENT IN YOUR ONLINE APPLICATION NEEDS TO HAVE A PHOTOSTATED COPY AND BE CERTIFIED. In regards to my previous answer, maybe a degree of leniency will be given to your certs, but most certainly don't try it with your private documents like birth cert, IC, payslip/tax form.

3. Don't need PMR. Who looks at that for undergraduate? Bring it if means comfort to you or if you think your SPM results don't look that spectacular. College results definitely should be included. If not, trial results or forecast grade. I brought my forecast + undergraduate letter of reference to be safe. I also gave them my university offer letters.

Psalms 126 : 5
"Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy."

Interested in finding me? Add me up facebook

Last edited by frostbyte13; 16-04-2012 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
frostbyte13 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to frostbyte13 For This Useful Post:
fnabila91 Female

#54 Old 16-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Originally Posted by frostbyte13 View Post
Hello people Done mine too. First interview was awesome, really great panel. I got panel 3, and my interview was scheduled on 11:30am. Don't know who I met today who was from ReCom but appreciate if you do recognize me here. I was Andrew; the guy with a white shirt, slacks, wearing glasses and a silver tie.

Here's my contribution to the rest of you who have not gone through it. You definitely need to be there earlier but you will end up waiting long. I ended being called 1 hour later than my slotted time. But it was well spent talking with the rest of the candidates shortlisted. Quite a huge number of pre-university candidates (most applied for Law and Business) and I only met a few undergraduate applicants today. (I was the only Economics applicant, the rest were either Law or Accounting/Finance). Here's a rough, from the top of my head recount of the experience. Hope it helps.

Word of caution is that if you are not familiar with getting to this place, do come and scout it here. Met someone there who said she got lost for 2 hours finding this place. Public transport is also kinda limited, so do carpool if it's possible. If you are coming with your parents, the parking is free but WOAH. The parking basement is very disorganized and confusing After that, head to G floor and check in with the security there. You'll need to hand in your IC to them to be granted a visitor's pass. The place is really spectacular in architecture; use the time to chill and just admire it. When you are called, a person would escort you to the first floor to meet in a gathering room with the rest of the shortlisted applicants. Before that, you will need to sign on a list to confirm your attendance and later sign again for finishing (Don't forget! I almost forgot to sign out). You will be in the same room with pre-university and undergraduate applicants together. Please don't make it socially awkward for everyone else or become anti-social with your gadgets and stuff. Mix around, connect, learn and have fun I really enjoyed talking with lots of different people from different backgrounds. Nervous? Seriously, CHILL OUT. It's just an interview, and the panels are all very nice people. They are smart and professional but they are just there to assess you. Not to toy with your intellect or downplay you. Most important thing, SMILE My panel were smiling and laughing all the way, I joined in too.

Please remember courtesy and manners. I forgot to knock on the door, but I wished the panel a good day and shook their hands. My interview really turned out to be a chit chat session. Lots of questions were pertaining to my essay (I spammed and elaborated my extracurricular because I did not want them to assess whether I honestly wrote if I were to write stuff on Economics that I did not read up), my personal qualities, some basic situational based questions based on your answers, what other scholarships you have applied for and why securities commission. Among other questions were like what do you think you can offer to securities commission, what do you understand it's function (please read this up and find out who is the current director; it's kinda shameful if you did not) and what kind of person you think of yourself.

Some of my unique questions were regarding my extracurricular (I mentioned a lot that I was active in varsity and church activities; and they saw my subject load in A-level was equally heavy) and how did I choose between which was more important. They also asked me how did I cope with balancing my studies and having an active lifestyle. Another one was why the sudden change from a science-stream student (SPM) to arts-stream (A-level) and why still have an interest in Science subjects that do not relate to Economics. They also wanted me to elaborate about my varsity extracurricular more because I briefly touched it in my essay. I even told them I was not feeling well and that on the day they called me to notify, that I was having an examination. They were surprised why was that so and we chatted on that too. They told me to take it easy with my studies and have a balance; seems they can't understand why we youngsters overdo it with our studies to the cost of sacrificing our health. That was really awesome because I saw genuine concern in my panels, and not just some examiners there.

Finally, we ended and they asked if I had any other questions. Please do keep some reasonably good questions to ask or you'll end up like some of us who asked and were told to Google up. According to past experiences by previous ReCom scholars, they asked things like how much weight was put on the essays and other factors, when will they be informed whether they are shortlisted for the next stage and how long do they need to be bonded. I asked two questions but had lengthy replies from them (which I perceived as a good sign they were responsive, as they really looked at me with interest when I was speaking and writing down). I asked if I applied for undergraduate local but had overseas offers, which would SC be more willing to accept and I also asked what do we do at the award ceremony and were there any post-award opportunities to meet with scholars and former scholars. After everything, I thanked them for the time and shook their hands, taking my leave to the waiting room. Funny thing; I brought in my folder of original certs and they DID NOT EVEN ONCE asked about it or flipped through it. They each have a folder with your online application, so I suppose you should come in free handed unless specified.

You will be however required to show your originals and photostated copies to the receptionist outside the gathering room. If they are all certified, they won't be bothered much to check all to be sure. They only want to be certain your SPM results are correct that's all. There was breakfast served for those who came early and lunch for the panels and interviewees. After my interview, all the panels (there were about 3 panels in total) adjourned for lunch and I seriously wished I had a chance to join in and talk with them. SUCH FRIENDLY PEOPLE haha. I had to leave cause my dad was waiting for me like hours already and we were both hungry already. Anyway, a lengthy summary but I've bolded the questions in case you are not interested to read the full story. Hope the rest of you had it as fun as I did. Remember, SMILE, CHILL AND SOCIALIZE

PS, judging from past scholar experiences, the results will be released in about 1 week ++ from now. Do update everyone in ReCom if you have received to prevent some of us from being kept in the dark ya. Cheers people

1. I saw someone giving the receptionist to certify what looked like an blank certificate. I suppose they will certify for you if do not make it in time. My friend's sister who works closely with HR and my mother who also works closely with the HR tell me scholarship panels usually give you the benefit of the doubt for certificates. Honestly, if you committed fraud you can't escape the verification process the entire time. What's more, if they want you, they will definitely call you back to sort it all out later; nothing wrong with that.

2. YES. They said EVERY DOCUMENT YOU SENT IN YOUR ONLINE APPLICATION NEEDS TO HAVE A PHOTOSTATED COPY AND BE CERTIFIED. In regards to my previous answer, maybe a degree of leniency will be given to your certs, but most certainly don't try it with your private documents like birth cert, IC, payslip/tax form.

3. Don't need PMR. Who looks at that for undergraduate? Bring it if means comfort to you or if you think your SPM results don't look that spectacular. College results definitely should be included. If not, trial results or forecast grade. I brought my forecast + undergraduate letter of reference to be safe. I also gave them my university offer letters.

Thanks a lot for sharing !
fnabila91 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fnabila91 For This Useful Post:
neoalien

#55 Old 16-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Originally Posted by frostbyte13 View Post
Lots of questions were pertaining to my essay (I spammed and elaborated my extracurricular because I did not want them to assess whether I honestly wrote if I were to write stuff on Economics that I did not read up), my personal qualities, some basic situational based questions based on your answers, what other scholarships you have applied for and why securities commission. Among other questions were like what do you think you can offer to securities commission, what do you understand it's function (please read this up and find out who is the current director; it's kinda shameful if you did not) and what kind of person you think of yourself.
What kind of situational based questions did they ask you? And did they ask you anything about Econ since you're an Economics applicant? I'm applying for Accounting so I'm wondering if they will ask me about my field (accounting) since we're undergrad applicants. But dun think got much to ask la. Thanks!

Last edited by neoalien; 16-04-2012 at 06:23 PM.
neoalien is offline   Reply With Quote
syazanazura Female

#56 Old 16-04-2012 Cool Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Okay, now I'm on my laptop and would be able to type up the interview today comfortably (using a Galaxy Tab is not recommended if you want to type a long, long essay!)

I was in Panel 5 (If I'm not mistaken) My interview slot was at 10:00am. For those who were there (and I met some of you!) I was the Malay girl in kinda-peachy blouse, black slacks with white tudung, wearing glasses and the die-hard fan of the Gunners (Y)

So I applied for the Pre-University scholarship. My intended course was MORSE (Mathematics, Operational Research, Statistics and Economics) [Just fyi : I've already started my A-Levels in Kolej Tuanku Ja'afar, Mantin.]

My two interviewers were really nice and friendly, especially the lady from the HR department. So don't worry if you're having your interview soon, they won't make it hard for you. It'd just be kinda like a chit-chat, but a serious one.

Some of the questions that I remembered were:

1. Tell us a little bit about you, your family and your achievements back in school.
So basically just give a little introduction about you, where you come from, which school, what you do in school, what clubs you're in, etc. Talk about your parents and where they work at, and also about your siblings.

I was talking about joining the school basketball team and becoming the co-captain for the girls' team when they bombarded (well, kinda) me with questions. How hard was it to handle the teams? Did we go for any tournaments? What were the challenges we faced in school?

2. Why the SC? Why not any other scholarships bodies like BNM, Khazanah, Petronas, etc?
Be honest. I did say I applied for other scholarships like BNM, Khazanah, Petronas and all, but I mentioned that my top three choices were BNM, Khazanah and SC. And since I got rejected by BNM and Khazanah, SC is my top choice for now. (not that I have any other choices, since I got rejected by mostly all the other scholarships, -.-')

3. Why you?
Mention why you'd like SC to sponsor you. What can you give back to SC after your studies. Why they should sponsor you over the other candidates. This is where you show your strengths. Tell them what makes you special. Maybe you're a national debater (ehem ehem)? Or maybe you've represented the country in an international tournament?

4. If we sponsor you, in which department would you work in after you graduate?
I got stuck on this question -.-' I kinda forgot to look through the departments (or I did, but I might have forgotten) so when they asked me this, I had no idea what to answer. Just have a look at the SC's website, read through their structure, and have an idea which area you'd like to work in.

5. Say, if we sponsor you, but it's not for MORSE, but we put you into Finance or Accounting, for example. How would you react?
This was a trap question for me, 'cause I told them I was supposed to be at Petronas's EduCamp on yesterday and today, but I chose SC over Petronas because Petronas was offering me Finance, and I specifically said 'I don't like Finance.' It was a mistake, so I was caught when they asked that question. The only thing I could say was, "Well, if the SC thinks that I have a better potential do excel in Finance that I couldn't see in myself at the moment, then I'll just have to adapt and let the potential shows itself."

6. What does MORSE stands for?
Mathematics, Operational Research, Statistics and Economics. [this was easy. The next was kinda tricky]

7. So you know that MORSE has Mathematics, Operational Research, Statistics and Economics. Out of these four, which one do you like the most?
Mathematics, of course. I love Maths.

8. You do know that there are courses like Mathematics and Statistics, right? Why do you choose MORSE instead of that?
I kinda stumbled on this question, but thankfully I remembered one of the things I said to my friend about the differences between MORSE and Economics (I think) so I said "Well, I might think I love Maths now, but there's no telling if, in the future I'd end up hating Maths or got bored by it. So if I do MORSE, I have a wider range of subjects to study instead of Maths alone, which would allow me to go into various fields." [phew, saved!]

9. Tell us about your leaderships skills.
Since I'm now leading our club for a service with Make-A-Wish Malaysia, I ended up talking around 5 minutes about this. About how hard it is to get a meeting among the committee members 'cause everyone have different timetables, how we get the funds, how the project is going, etc. [They'd ask you about the problems that you face while handling an event/project]

We wrapped things up about half an hour afterwards. They asked me if I got any question, and I asked one on behalf on my teacher : If I get the scholarship, am I still able to continue my A-Levels in KTJ? Because (for some reasons) my teachers, juniors and friends were worried I'd leave school like my brother did two years ago. Thankfully they said if they were to give me the scholarship, they wouldn't force me to leave, which was a relieve to me. xD

And yep, like Andrew said, they didn't take a look at my certificates or anything. Just show your original and photocopied certificates to the receptionist outside the waiting room, and you're done for the day!

Just relax, and be yourself. Drink some water before you go in 'cause your throat will get dry. But don't drink too much or you'd be feeling like going to the toilet in the middle of your interview. Smile, greet your interviewers, shake hands with them(if you can), and please don't turn around on the chair (like I did the first few minutes) -.-''

Good luck and have fun guys! Results would be out probably next week (or even this week, according to them) so let's pray for the best for everyone. (Y)
syazanazura is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to syazanazura For This Useful Post:
frostbyte13 Male

#57 Old 16-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Originally Posted by neoalien View Post
What kind of situational based questions did they ask you? And did they ask you anything about Econ since you're an Economics applicant? I'm applying for Accounting so I'm wondering if they will ask me about my field (accounting) since we're undergrad applicants. But dun think got much to ask la. Thanks!
I replied via PM. Do check.

Psalms 126 : 5
"Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy."

Interested in finding me? Add me up facebook
frostbyte13 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frostbyte13 For This Useful Post:
bubblystar Female

#58 Old 17-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Hi everyone,
How are your interview? =)
bubblystar is offline   Reply With Quote
syazanazura Female

#59 Old 17-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

Originally Posted by bubblystar View Post
Hi everyone,
How are your interview? =)
Hi My interview on Monday went well, I think How was yours?

Flickr | Blogger | Facebook | Twitter
syazanazura is offline   Reply With Quote
kaelanong Male

#60 Old 17-04-2012 Default Re: Securities Commission Scholarship 2012

HAHAHA! Today's 9.30-12.00 slot interviewees were a great bunch. I think we all had a great time Cheers, guys
kaelanong is offline   Reply With Quote