Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships

2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

HarizNasir Male

#261 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

HI everyone , am a bursary recipients
and have registered in taylors for a level ,
however , do the accomodation been supported under the bursary ?

p/s : i hope they give us laptop allowance
HarizNasir is offline   Reply With Quote
raindrops Male

#262 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Hi! Me too.
Already apply to go 2 HELP to do A-level am still waiting to get the offer letter from HELP.
Any body else going there ?
raindrops is offline   Reply With Quote
chankitwck Male

#263 Old 25-04-2012 Post Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Originally Posted by pauching View Post
The normal route that I assume is to apply WITHOUT AS results. I believe Taylors/Inti is doing this, where they ask students to apply using AS trial results. So you are actually not using your real result to apply. And all candidates have to sit for the admission test (if the course that you chose requires this test) . Oxford normally invites Most of the candidates (about 70%) for their interview. Bear in mind that the admission test and interview are conducted Before you have your AS and A2 results.

After looking at your performance in the admission test and interview, then only they will decide either to give conditional offer or reject or unconditional offer (very very rare case for those without A-Level results, unless you are Super outstanding). The conditional offer that they give depends on your test and interview performance. That is why I said that admission test and interview are more important. Because there are just to many candidates with predicted/real grades of straight A*.
Read the sentence in red.Clearly it is really hard (i mean almost impossible ,from what i've read) to obtain an unconditional offer letter in Oxbridge or any other top universities in the world, for that matter, when we are only applying using our AS Trials.(Read this thread).Don't know where does our A2 results comes in in the application.Does anyone know?
I thought that people use the full A-levels result (A2 + AS) or at least AS + A2 Trials , to apply as the deadline is around September preceding the year of entry for Oxbridge.
If we use our AS Trials, it would mean,literally, that we have wasted our opportunity to secure the Unconditional offer required for PILN 2014.
Why the heck is MOE giving us false hope that we could be able to secure the unconditional offer from these Top 10 or 50 universities? Those January intake batches should have no problem with this but what about July intake batch?
Anyone care to clarify?
chankitwck is offline   Reply With Quote
HarizNasir Male

#264 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Originally Posted by chankitwck View Post
Read the sentence in red.Clearly it is really hard (i mean almost impossible ,from what i've read) to obtain an unconditional offer letter in Oxbridge or any other top universities in the world, for that matter, when we are only applying using our AS Trials.(Read this thread).Don't know where does our A2 results comes in in the application.Does anyone know?
I thought that people use the full A-levels result (A2 + AS) or at least AS + A2 Trials , to apply as the deadline is around September preceding the year of entry for Oxbridge.
If we use our AS Trials, it would mean,literally, that we have wasted our opportunity to secure the Unconditional offer required for PILN 2014.
Why the heck is MOE giving us false hope that we could be able to secure the unconditional offer from these Top 10 or 50 universities? Those January intake batches should have no problem with this but what about July intake batch?
Anyone care to clarify?
Maybe the government want us to further study in australia which is lower in cost ,
australian uni undergraduate intake is in februart

Last edited by HarizNasir; 25-04-2012 at 06:01 PM.

#265 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Originally Posted by HarizNasir View Post
HI everyone , am a bursary recipients
and have registered in taylors for a level ,
however , do the accomodation been supported under the bursary ?

p/s : i hope they give us laptop allowance
JPA dun giv laptop allowance.

#266 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

alamakkkkk !!!
a lot of things can be done with that laptop allowance
yanno_yamster Female

#267 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Originally Posted by HarizNasir View Post
Maybe the government want us to further study in australia which is lower in cost ,
australian uni undergraduate intake is in februart
Lower cost? Think again, lol...

May you be well and happy!!! :)
yanno_yamster is offline   Reply With Quote

#268 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Originally Posted by yanno_yamster View Post
Lower cost? Think again, lol...
it's cheaper if compared to UK rite? Since the currency exchange for AUS dollar is nt as high as pound.

#269 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Originally Posted by Boyz_Zoo View Post
it's cheaper if compared to UK rite? Since the currency exchange for AUS dollar is nt as high as pound.
yes , that is the main point
Merlin

#270 Old 25-04-2012 Default Re: 2012 JPA Scholarships for SPM leavers

Think again! Aus tuition fees are much higher n
With d increase of Aussie dollar the cost has esc
alated so much so that it is higher than UK now
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote