Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Scholarships

Scholarships A place to find out about scholarships available for Malaysians

Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

Johnivan Male

#101 Old 04-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

Originally Posted by llyjohor View Post
Hi Johnivan,

Does that mean that if I go for SS interview my ASEAN scholarship from NTU will be cancelled, even in the event that I'm not offered SS? I understand that the competition for SS is extremely stiff and I know I stand a very low chance of getting it. However, I am just thinking that it's better for me if I could try my best and seize every chance and opportunity. FYI, yesterday I called Singapore Commission and the officer told me I can still go for SS interview although I've been offered ASEAN from NTU. She told me that ASEAN undergraduate scholarship is offered by NTU itself, not by SG government, so there will be no conflicts between these two scholarships.

Also, for NTU ASEAN scholarship, the deadline of acceptance is on 14th of May. NUS just emailed me and ask me to attend their ASEAN scholarship interview on 14th of May. So I am really confused now. Can I accept offer of admission from both university first, then wait for news of scholarships, then only I make final decision? I tried emailed NUS but I haven't gotten any reply yet. But the deadline of acceptance of offer of admission is tomorrow, 4th of May. So yea, I am very confused. May you please advice me on this matter? Thanks for your help
I'm not sure whether I'm confusing you guys, I think I should make it clear here:

1) You CAN accept the ADMISSION of NUS and NTU at the same time.
2) You CANNOT hold SS and ASEAN scholarship at the same time.

So what I mean is yes, go ahead for the interview, it doesn't affect anything if you don't get it. But if you get it, you have to find out yourself the outcome.

A few links worth checking out:
My Life Story
Further Mathematics T Blog (2003-2011 Syllabus)
Johnivan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Johnivan For This Useful Post:
dyzlee

#102 Old 04-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

wa llyjohor, u have posted a lot of stuffs since i last loggied in, erm, 2 ur 1st question, my senior is studyin in ntu, n i'm offered science in nus, n ya, i'm atteding oso de interview in 2+ hrs time. n yes, i have submitted the photograph, but was told on the website that it will take at most one week to process the photograph

oh btw llyjohor, the have approved my photograph submission, damn, these singaporeans r freaking efficient!

Last edited by dyzlee; 04-05-2012 at 09:55 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
dyzlee is offline   Reply With Quote
dolpin122 Female

#103 Old 05-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

nobody wants to share about the interviews? =/
For this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.
1thes.
dolpin122 is offline   Reply With Quote
frostbyte13 Male

#104 Old 05-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

I'm not applying for this scholarship but what I can tell you guys is that probably most sponsors are aware the scholars and shortlisted candidates are sharing their knowledge of the assessments and interviews that should be P&C. When I went for my interview with Securities Commission, I was asked how come I seemed prepared and relaxed about the assessment besides the fact it wasn't really a matter to be stressed about. I told them I had done some reading online about past experiences, and some of the assessors did not really like my answer. They also warned us right after our assessments to please keep things P&C so my guess is that people are not risking it. Either that, or people just don't want to help their rivals? Anyway, there is no real secure way to prepare you for an interview. Just go in and be yourself

Psalms 126 : 5
"Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy."

Interested in finding me? Add me up facebook
frostbyte13 is offline   Reply With Quote
llyjohor Male

#105 Old 05-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

to Johnivan :
I went to the interview yesterday, and the interviewers (1 of them is NUS Professor) told me it's okay that I've gotten the ASEAN scholarship from NTU and still come for the interview. He said that SS and ASEAN are administered by two different panels. So if the outcome of SS is success, then we'll have to decide which one we want to take. But they did told me the risk tho, as deadline for ASEAN NTU is on 14th of May, I need to consider to take it up as the results of SS will not be released that soon. Thanks a lot for your help Johnivan

to dyzlee:
haha sorry for posting so many questions. yea my photo is approved too, they are really efficient! when's was your interview btw? I found out that I'm actually the last person to be interviewed. lol.

Last edited by llyjohor; 05-05-2012 at 02:37 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
llyjohor is offline   Reply With Quote
dyzlee

#106 Old 06-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

llyjohor, i'm de last 6th person 2 b interview, oso de first after de lunch hr, same day vit u. my interview, i dont think it went well, dint answer certain questions 2 de best of my ability.
dyzlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Johnivan Male

#107 Old 06-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

Hmm... So the interviews are done? You don't normally ask your peers about how's their interviews before you go for yours, instead, you should ask your Seniors! I was waiting for people to ask me for tips on how you should do in your interview, haha... But, your batch is seriously interesting. So now just wait bah. It will take about 2 weeks to 3 weeks. Once anyone gets it, please post it here so that the rest can emo officially for not getting it (you know, having false hopes is worse. ). All the best for your other applications and etc!

Let Sugan and I know if you get it, because there will be lots of secrets to be revealed after that.

p.s.: If you have trouble making decisions, i.e., you did so well that every university wants you and you don't know who to reject, try list down your priorities (course or school), do some research about it, and weigh them. Put your future into account too! Good luck guys!

A few links worth checking out:
My Life Story
Further Mathematics T Blog (2003-2011 Syllabus)
Johnivan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Johnivan For This Useful Post:
JasonOng Male

#108 Old 06-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

Hi everyone. =)

Just thought I should show you that he is one of the interviewer for the scholarship.

http://www.pharmacy.nus.edu.sg/staff/phaccye/

another one is a really cute and nice lady =D haha....

Overall it was relaxing and more like an informal chat tho.
JasonOng is offline   Reply With Quote
dolpin122 Female

#109 Old 19-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

Originally Posted by JasonOng View Post
Hi everyone. =)

Just thought I should show you that he is one of the interviewer for the scholarship.

http://www.pharmacy.nus.edu.sg/staff/phaccye/

another one is a really cute and nice lady =D haha....

Overall it was relaxing and more like an informal chat tho.
Ahh..so that man is a from the pharmacy department?...thus, those hard qns!!

Anyways, anybody got any news yet?

This waiting is making me feel all nervous ><
For this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.
1thes.
dolpin122 is offline   Reply With Quote
llyjohor Male

#110 Old 19-05-2012 Default Re: Singapore Scholarship 2012/2013

nope, I didn't receive any news yet...
llyjohor is offline   Reply With Quote