Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Any tips for interview?

ivysehoo

#1 Old 10-01-2005 Default Any tips for interview?

Heya RECom members

Any one of you obtained a scholarship from the ANU Alumni to study in Australian National University before? I'll be attending the interview this SAturday. I hope maybe some of you would be able to give me tips for the interview. Ermm .. any tips on scholarship interviews are welcomed. Uhhmm.. it's my first time so I really need help. Thanks
ivysehoo is offline   Reply With Quote
wawa Female

#2 Old 11-01-2005 Default

ANU, I remember attending the interview. The people interviewing (if same as last year) are okay, not- too aggressive but they make that up in bulk. I had like 4 interviewing me at one go, and that was reduced form. apparently should be 7 but some didn't have time.
Usual preparation will do. Not particularly difficult. Just be calm and show them your ability.

Good luck! Email me if you have any doubts or queries.
wawa is offline   Reply With Quote
dlearn

#3 Old 11-01-2005 Default

Get as much current information as possible on:
1. ANU: read the speech of the Vice Chancellor (or newsletter)...people will be impressed with your taking the trouble to do so. Know the directions charted by the VC, especially in relation to the area of scholarship you are applying

2. Read up on the area or faculty or field that your are targeting your scholarhsip in. If you want to study a Master/PhD in say biotechnology...be up to date with current developments and have an idea of what you want to do. If you are an undergrad, do prepare to talk around the subject of your projects, substaintial assisgnments etc

3. If you know who is in the panel of your internview, dig up some information on them.

4. Find out who are your competitions.....be prepared to outshine them.

Most importantly, be yourself, never lie, if you don't know anything just say so, no one expects you to be good at everything.

When I applied for my PhD scholarship at Queen's University Belfast (many years ago!), I did the followings:`
1. I found out what the faculty priority research area (relevant to my field of interest) was. By speaking to a number of senior academics and showing them my intention
2. Size up my competition and I knew who were going for the same scholarship
3. Prepare my plan (research plan mind you)
4. Spoke my mind during the interview and spoke frankly about my own limitations (and of course my strengths were elaborated more)

I, one of the few foreign students at the faculty managed to beat my local competitors to the scholarship at the end. I sailed through the inteview and impressed the panel with my preparation and the way I handled their questions....the same tactic was used many times in my quest for jobs (with, I am proud to say, 80% plus success rate so far).

Good luck! Sorry for being long winded...old man are like that lah!
dlearn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dlearn For This Useful Post:
ivysehoo

#4 Old 12-01-2005 Default

Originally Posted by wawa
ANU, I remember attending the interview. The people interviewing (if same as last year) are okay, not- too aggressive but they make that up in bulk. I had like 4 interviewing me at one go, and that was reduced form. apparently should be 7 but some didn't have time.
Usual preparation will do. Not particularly difficult. Just be calm and show them your ability.

Good luck! Email me if you have any doubts or queries.
Hey wawa...

Thanks a lot Did you manage to get the scholarship? How many people will get shortlisted anyway? Who are the panel?

Dlearn,

Thanks a lot for the advice too. It is very valuable to me and I'll do my homework before going for the interview. Thanks again!
wawa Female

#5 Old 13-01-2005 Default

dear ivy,

Everyyear they shortlist about 20 people. The interviewers were previous ANU scholarship holders and are now the Alumni of it.

best of luck!
wawa is offline   Reply With Quote
ivysehoo

#6 Old 17-01-2005 Default Secrets of the ANU alumni scholarship interview, revealed

To those who would wish to apply for the ANU scholarship next year, I would like to share my interview experience:

There were 75 applicants this year and only 22 got shortlisted for the interview. There were 4 interviewers and they are all ANU alumni members. They're nice people... around 30-40 years old i guess. Yes, they ask all conventional questions and most of it can be found from the tips for interview in the 1st issue of remag.
What did they ask me... hmm ... ok ..
1. My background
2. I chose psychology and i was the only one so they were pretty surprised because the others chose actuarial sc, biotech etc.... so they asked me how would my course contribute to the developement of the country
3. Is ANU a good place to study psychology
4. What do i know about the university
5. What i intend to do after my course

YEah .... something like that larh. Each interview session took about 15-20 minutes.
Uhm... after the interview, they will select 5 candidates and send their names to ANU and ANU will choose ONE out of the 5. So, ultimately, does the interview really matter? hmm... well, whatever it is... it was a good experience for me. So, people out there... don't be afraid to try! Although you might not get it, but you'll deffinately not get if you don't try.
kucingbiru

#7 Old 17-01-2005 Default

my tip is, be yourself. dont try to be what you're not. and dont be a smartass. be honest. if they know your weakness, dont deny it. they know it. instead, give reasons, not excuses. let them know why you deserve it.
kucingbiru is offline   Reply With Quote
ivysehoo

#8 Old 17-01-2005 Default

Yeah! I got selected into their final five by just being myself. I told them that I don't promise them anything neither do I know what to expect from the university as I have never been there. But I promise them that I will try my best!

Scholarship hunting is really tough and a test of perseverance and patience! All the best, people!!!
kucingbiru

#9 Old 17-01-2005 Default

Originally Posted by ivysehoo
Yeah! I got selected into their final five by just being myself. I told them that I don't promise them anything neither do I know what to expect from the university as I have never been there. But I promise them that I will try my best!
Congratulations. that's a good attitude, good for you.
afterall, it's more beautiful to be accepted for who you are thn what you pretend to be.
kucingbiru is offline   Reply With Quote