ReCom Chat Forum This is where you chat! As per new policy, all social messages e.g. "hey are you the cute guy sitting next to me in interview yesterday" MUST be posted here.

Kiasu-ism

melindaL

#21 Old 24-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

i have a friend who is also my classmate, she is really competitive but she is not one of the top scorers in my school. what really annoys me is that whenever i sit next in class, she will tend to look at any extra things taht i've noted down from the explanation by the tch. i dont mind her looking but the weirdest thing is that when i look back at hers she would stare right into my eyes (like why r u loooking at mine?!!) and thats not all, when i sat a few seats away from her, she'll look at me occasionally to see what i am actly doing.
melindaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Cactus Male

#22 Old 24-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by melindaL View Post
i have a friend who is also my classmate, she is really competitive but she is not one of the top scorers in my school. what really annoys me is that whenever i sit next in class, she will tend to look at any extra things taht i've noted down from the explanation by the tch. i dont mind her looking but the weirdest thing is that when i look back at hers she would stare right into my eyes (like why r u loooking at mine?!!) and thats not all, when i sat a few seats away from her, she'll look at me occasionally to see what i am actly doing.
Maybe she's trying to improve her study habits by observing you or other people? Like, learning what to note down instead of copying everything the teacher said.

Maybe.
Cactus is offline   Reply With Quote
yanno_yamster Female

#23 Old 26-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by Cactus View Post
Maybe she's trying to improve her study habits by observing you or other people? Like, learning what to note down instead of copying everything the teacher said.

Maybe.
Wouldn't it be better if she had asked instead of peeking?

May you be well and happy!!! :)
yanno_yamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Nicholasng925 Male

#24 Old 27-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

HAHA! I laughed at the sentence where she stares right into your eyes when you look back. Stare back her-lah!

As for me, if I see someone wrote something (and I didn't), subconsciously I would think that could be quite an important information that I might have missed out. Usually I would ask her/his permission to see what she/he has jolted down. Aha another kiasu fella.

1. Out of clutter, find simplicity.
2. From discord, find harmony.
3. In the middle of difficulty, lies opportunity.
=[{Albert Einstein}]=

Feel free to visit my blog here!!!
Nicholasng925 is offline   Reply With Quote
melindaL

#25 Old 27-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by Nicholasng925 View Post
HAHA! I laughed at the sentence where she stares right into your eyes when you look back. Stare back her-lah!

As for me, if I see someone wrote something (and I didn't), subconsciously I would think that could be quite an important information that I might have missed out. Usually I would ask her/his permission to see what she/he has jolted down. Aha another kiasu fella.

haha yeah i did! i think she realiseed that i noticed her kiasu-ness. normally my other friends will get my permission but she'll just peek at mine and i dont think she like it when i look back at hers.
Nicholasng925 Male

#26 Old 27-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

haha yeah i did! i think she realiseed that i noticed her kiasu-ness. normally my other friends will get my permission but she'll just peek at mine and i dont think she like it when i look back at hers.
What? Then why is she looking at yours when she thinks she wouldn't like it if others do that to her?

Sometimes I peek at people's book too. When they catch me peeking, I would turn my head around and stare at my book. Hahaha kiasu-ism overload!

Well, most students (those who care) would be kiasu to a certain extent.

=[{Albert Einstein}]=

melindaL

#27 Old 28-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by Nicholasng925 View Post
What? Then why is she looking at yours when she thinks she wouldn't like it if others do that to her?

Sometimes I peek at people's book too. When they catch me peeking, I would turn my head around and stare at my book. Hahaha kiasu-ism overload!

Well, most students (those who care) would be kiasu to a certain extent.

haha i have no idea. i dont think i am really kiasu. normally i'm kiasu because others are kiasu towards me. LOL
Nicholasng925 Male

#28 Old 29-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

haha i have no idea. i dont think i am really kiasu. normally i'm kiasu because others are kiasu towards me. LOL
I think we will get kiasu only when people put high expectation on us, inducing us to study harder and indirectly leading to kiasuism.

=[{Albert Einstein}]=

trenchcoat101 Female

#29 Old 30-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

What happens most of the time is:
A: Hey how was that quiz/test?
B: Ahh I did badly la, I don't know how to answer many of the questions.

Results: B scored better than A.

If you did ok, just say so, don't have to hide your capabilities.

Did this happen to you before?

#30 Old 31-01-2012 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by trenchcoat101 View Post
What happens most of the time is:
A: Hey how was that quiz/test?
B: Ahh I did badly la, I don't know how to answer many of the questions.

Results: B scored better than A.

If you did ok, just say so, don't have to hide your capabilities.

Did this happen to you before?
Yes!!! Most of them are just trying to be humble though... I also get asked this sometimes, but when I say I did badly, I really mean it.

May you be well and happy!!! :)
yanno_yamster is offline   Reply With Quote