| ReCom Chat Forum This is where you chat! As per new policy, all social messages e.g. "hey are you the cute guy sitting next to me in interview yesterday" MUST be posted here. |
Do drop by Kolej Teknologi Timur's Christian Fellowship blog! KTT is one of the preparatory colleges that JPA sends their India-, Poland-, and Czech-bound students to do their A-levels ![]() http://kttshinesforjesus.blogspot.com |
=[(*The Three Rules of Work*)]= 1. Out of clutter, find simplicity. 2. From discord, find harmony. 3. In the middle of difficulty, lies opportunity. =[{Albert Einstein}]= Feel free to visit my blog here!!! |
Lol! okay now this is highly confusing. hahaha. I think I'll stop trying to figure out what your class was like. This must be the result of trying to drown myself in Chemistry formulas! :S
Do drop by Kolej Teknologi Timur's Christian Fellowship blog! KTT is one of the preparatory colleges that JPA sends their India-, Poland-, and Czech-bound students to do their A-levels ![]() http://kttshinesforjesus.blogspot.com |
Refusal to impart knowledge with friends are people who are selfish, not kiasu. Defending their status as best student is indeed kiasu. But don't u have no.1 friends who are sociable, helpful and are the happy-go-lucky type? Even when I was in SBU, the no.1 girl was smart and helpful. She defends her top student spot every time. But i felt that she was deserving. For her being kiasu made her perform even better. It created a somewhat healthy competition among all students. Quote:
Don't u think Kiasu environments make us work harder? Kiasu people = competitive people. That's indeed the real world. I enjoy studying in a kiasu (but not entirely selfish) environment. At least everyone is striving to improve themselves. If u're like lee chong wei with no lin dan. no competition. always no.1. do u think that's a good thing? It's at the time when u have a match that u will keep improving ur techniques and stamina! Both badminton players are definitely kiasu. they don't want to lose to each other. But of course, as sportsmen, they accept defeat graciously. Quote:
If kiasu-ism is such a bitter trait tell me why when u write an essay u hope of scoring the highest mark? I'm kiasu. Tee-hee. Who isn't? ;p
| The Following User Says Thank You to twin For This Useful Post: |
ReMag Writer |
I am surrounded by so many kiasus in college that I no longer harbor any hope of beating them. What's the point when they always get near perfect or perfect scores, while even if I do my best, I can never attain those levels? They're all just so ridiculously hardworking.
Some people are both. I have a friend who was like that.
"But what do you say to taking chances, What do you say to jumping off the edge? Never knowing if there's solid ground below Or hand to hold, or hell to pay, What do you say, What do you say?" And thus laments the hopeless romantic that is yours truly. Last edited by Dominic; 16-05-2011 at 12:44 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost |
||
| The Following User Says Thank You to Dominic For This Useful Post: |
Well sometimes kia-su can be a good thing to motivate you to work hard. But remember just don't push yourself too hard, because you know where your limit is right?
And what I believe is that the God is fair, when someone's result is better than you, there's must be something you are better than him too
Kiasu people ARE competitive people, but competitive people don't necessarily need to be kiasu. Think about it, even though it might not make sense at first glance. I don't think I'll bother elaborating on this, because I'm too lazy to type panjang2. But you gotta admit, sometimes having kiasu people in your class might do you some good.Just my two cents. Feel free to disagree.
There is the literal meaning of kiasu (which is the fear of losing), and there is the implied meaning and scope of kiasu which could encompass competitive, selfish or even sinister means in achieving one's goals. The meaning varies depending on who you are talking to.
When it comes to the sinister kiasu-ism, there is no need for elaboration for why it is unwarranted. We all have our fair share of story about the student who cheats, hoards, or sabotages his way to success. However, the fear of losing per se is not necessarily a bad thing as long as it's not excessive. In a measured degree, it propels one to work towards his goal by exerting a healthy amount of pressure. Lots of successful people find themselves striving in a moderately stressful environment. Of course when left unchecked the stress and the inability to accept loss would still lead to considerable emotional distress. The question of "is kiasuism good or bad" doesn't have a simple answer. It's like asking "is fire good or bad" - it depends on the context and the nature. The reason we see that many selfish-kiasu people around is because we live in a limited-outlook, third-world country. In a developed country, you can score 60 in school and be reasonably happy because you are raised by your parents in a society who is happy to accept that exam scores in a rote-memory test does not necessarily decide your fate and position in the society. A lot of successful people in all sorts of fields did not have good results in school. In the case of Chinese, you also inherit the culture from your ancestors who lived in a country with one billion people with limited means of success in an autocratic society. There probably isn't going to be scientific evidence for this, but I suspect there has even been natural selection for competitiveness in the Chinese society so the kiasu trait is probably even incorporated in your genes!
[ Check out our ReCom wiki! Do contribute by writing or editing the existing articles so that everyone now and in the future can benefit from it! Last edited by youngyew; 16-05-2011 at 04:43 PM. |
| Bookmarks |