ReCom Chat Forum This is where you chat! As per new policy, all social messages e.g. "hey are you the cute guy sitting next to me in interview yesterday" MUST be posted here.

Kiasu-ism

joan2468 Female

#1 Old 14-05-2011 Default Kiasu-ism

I'm very sure most of us are familiar with the nature of Kiasu-ism, whether you are the victim or the culprit!

While the term "kiasu" is generally meant to mean someone who is obsessive over something (to my understanding, anyway), when used by students it has come to take on the single, more specific meaning of a student who has an (often unhealthy) obsession over their studies, some of them also having anti-social traits like refusing to participate in classroom activities or having a mean competitive nature, like refusing to help explain when asked a question by another student so as to deprive them of knowledge and defend their title as "the best student".

I have been a member of my school's "top class" each year, so I'm very well acquainted with kiasu-ism. But the label of a "kiasu" is not always rightfully attached to the brainy ones - some brainy ones are in fact not kiasu, they socialise with their classmates and are more than happy to share knowledge and teach others - in fact, it is often found that there is a queue of people waiting to ask the best add. math student in my class a question during free periods! And she does well in explaining the steps.

On the other hand, two people in my class absolutely embody the classic nature of kiasu-ism - one of whom is quite anti-social, the other of whom gets rather snappy when you ask her a question.

So, how about you guys? What are your experiences and opinions on the nature of the kiasu? How do you think such a nature affects a classroom and learning environment? Discuss.
joan2468 is offline   Reply With Quote
yiling Female

#2 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

No offence but i do think those ppl who bag first few places in class have kiasuism.
Kiasu-ism is the source of power to drive them to work harder and strive for better results, dont you think so? And i believe EVERYONE must have this kiasuism in them, including me, the difference is of course the level of kiasuness. XD Everyone likes to win. haha
yiling is offline   Reply With Quote
joan2468 Female

#3 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by yiling View Post
No offence but i do think those ppl who bag first few places in class have kiasuism.
Kiasu-ism is the source of power to drive them to work harder and strive for better results, dont you think so? And i believe EVERYONE must have this kiasuism in them, including me, the difference is of course the level of kiasuness. XD Everyone likes to win. haha
Ah, quite true. But competitive nature comes in two variations, healthy and unhealthy - there is a difference between the runner who jogs and trains every day in hopes of having an honest win at a marathon, and the runner who jogs and trains every day but elbows at people to push past them.

Sad to say there are quite the number of people (for the "smart" class) who get leaked questions from their tuition mates from different schools for government-set exams like Diagnostics and Trials, since the date of the exams was different for each school - this was quite rampant during PMR, I recall, and is still rather rampant this year, for my SPM year. I also recall being one of the few who clapped their ears shut and refused to listen to the "tips" I would feel like I cheated myself if I didn't get a good grade out of my own blood, sweat and tears
xJing Female

#4 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Kiasu-ism is weird. It's not necessarily a 'thing' that top scorers have. Most of the top scorers in my class in secondary school weren't kiasu in the slightest. We were all crazy people, having fun making noise and pretty much making chaos the norm in the class. There are some smart people who are kiasu, though. They would mug and mug and mug, and then when you ask them questions, all they do is say, "ah, lidat lah! erm, you just do like this" *shoves jalan kerja in your face*, which I think is a very lousy way of explaining a step. Sometimes they just say "I dunno lah" or "I'm busy" or they just ignore you. I seriously don't see a point in holding back knowledge that way.

Bottomline, I think kiasuism has it's benefits, because it makes you study, but it can be unhealthy when it comes to personal relations.

And I agree with joan in saying that we should do well based on our own hard work, not by sneaky methods.

http://kttshinesforjesus.blogspot.com
xJing is offline   Reply With Quote
joan2468 Female

#5 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by xJing View Post
Kiasu-ism is weird. It's not necessarily a 'thing' that top scorers have. Most of the top scorers in my class in secondary school weren't kiasu in the slightest. We were all crazy people, having fun making noise and pretty much making chaos the norm in the class.
My class is continually labeled as the most chaotic and noisiest one, and yet I am quite certain that other classes are equally as noisy - it's just "the Alpha effect" Top class, top expectations. They expect us to be quiet little mice absorbed in his/her own reference books.

I have to say my class has some rather...er...unique people though Keeps things from being too boring.

There are some smart people who are kiasu, though. They would mug and mug and mug, and then when you ask them questions, all they do is say, "ah, lidat lah! erm, you just do like this" *shoves jalan kerja in your face*, which I think is a very lousy way of explaining a step. Sometimes they just say "I dunno lah" or "I'm busy" or they just ignore you. I seriously don't see a point in holding back knowledge that way.
I agree. Honestly, when you share knowledge, you are also getting something back in return, and people will like you for helping them. There is no drawback to sharing what you know.

There is a girl in my class whom we all know better than to ask questions from! She loses her patience with people very easily and often snaps if asked a question. The girl I mentioned in my earlier post, the math wiz, has a very different attitude - she doesn't just shove her workings in people's faces, she explains them step by step.
Nicholasng925 Male

#6 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

omg I think I'm kiasu! But I do explain to people okay, steps by steps and those economics theories until they understand okay! I'm a tutor for Economics and Maths in my college! LOL! Back in high school, I was a tutor for a group of 6 students, and I had to teach them Add Maths and 3 Sciences. I think I taught them well too, cause most of them were straight As students too in SPM.

1. Out of clutter, find simplicity.
2. From discord, find harmony.
3. In the middle of difficulty, lies opportunity.
=[{Albert Einstein}]=

Feel free to visit my blog here!!!
Nicholasng925 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nicholasng925 For This Useful Post:
xJing Female

#7 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by joan2468 View Post
My class is continually labeled as the most chaotic and noisiest one, and yet I am quite certain that other classes are equally as noisy - it's just "the Alpha effect" Top class, top expectations. They expect us to be quiet little mice absorbed in his/her own reference books.

I have to say my class has some rather...er...unique people though Keeps things from being too boring.

I agree. Honestly, when you share knowledge, you are also getting something back in return, and people will like you for helping them. There is no drawback to sharing what you know.

There is a girl in my class whom we all know better than to ask questions from! She loses her patience with people very easily and often snaps if asked a question. The girl I mentioned in my earlier post, the math wiz, has a very different attitude - she doesn't just shove her workings in people's faces, she explains them step by step.
Lol I actually know some super kiasu people who won't even talk when the teachers aren't in! In a way, you have to salute them lah. They always get their homework done, and the teachers love their academic performance, too. It's just a pity if they aren't willing to help others. I mean, you won't be any less smarter by helping others, even though it will take up your time.

Originally Posted by Nicholasng925 View Post
omg I think I'm kiasu! But I do explain to people okay, steps by steps and those economics theories until they understand okay! I'm a tutor for Economics and Maths in my college! LOL! Back in high school, I was a tutor for a group of 6 students, and I had to teach them Add Maths and 3 Sciences. I think I taught them well too, cause most of them were straight As students too in SPM.
fuyohh. hahah. Smart lah tu. See, an example of kiasu people who are smart. XD

Last edited by xJing; 15-05-2011 at 12:50 AM.
Nicholasng925 Male

#8 Old 14-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

fuyohh. hahah. Smart lah tu. See, and example of kiasu people who are smart. XD
I think I should be a lecturer already, howww?

1. Out of clutter, find simplicity.
2. From discord, find harmony.
3. In the middle of difficulty, lies opportunity.
=[{Albert Einstein}]=

Feel free to visit my blog here!!!
Nicholasng925 is offline   Reply With Quote
xJing Female

#9 Old 15-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

Originally Posted by Nicholasng925 View Post
I think I should be a lecturer already, howww?
hahah! then better change course! Don't go do Actuarial Science dy.

Cactus Male

#10 Old 15-05-2011 Default Re: Kiasu-ism

The prevalence/severity of kiasu-ness depend on the environment also...

During my form 5...because most of us have almost the same "level", so it really doesn't matter if you teach anyone who are having problems understanding the course content. If you want good ranking, just study hard and you'll probably get it.

Anyway, being the student who got number 3 in class, I always felt a bit shy to ask the number 1 student....felt like I'm threatening his position if he helped me too much, lol.

But I think it's no fun to study in an environment where people consciously try to outbeat each other....(haiz...welcome to the real world...)

(Sorry if I digressed, lol)
Cactus is offline   Reply With Quote