Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Pharmacy, the best course to take right now?

infested_ysy

#1 Old 21-11-2004 Default Pharmacy, the best course to take right now?

Just curious, I've been told by my parents, and some of my relatives to opt for pharmacy course, if able, for the future prospects of it seemed bright. They claimed that in 2006 or so, our country will mimic most western countries when it comes to medicine, whereby doctors would only prescribe a list of medicine the patient would need, NOT sell them.

But anyway, is the pharmacy field strictly reserved to those who took Biology and Chemistry in their A-Levels (or STPM)?
infested_ysy is offline   Reply With Quote
lzyee

#2 Old 21-11-2004 Default

what about Architecture ??
is there anyone here taking architecture or want to take the course?.
lzyee is offline   Reply With Quote

#3 Old 21-11-2004 Default

hmm... not answering the questions above... becoz, i dun have any up-to-date answer....

anyway, just want to voice my opinion that u(can be anyone, no particular target here) shld pursue the course that u like... which u are interested in... if u think that it won't earn u a paycheck, then, choose another line which u still interested in and can also earn u a living... coz, ur choice of courses will decide what u will do in ur entire life... so, u dun really want to base ur life on something which u are not interested in for ur entire life, i don't think that u will lead a happy life...

for example, a lot of ppl(chinese parents, mostly) think that becoming a doctor can earn a great living, and will be well respected... and force their children to become a doctor... howeverm, some of the children dun really want to be a general practitioner... but, becoz of being filial piety, they succumb to their parents' pressure...

in the end, these children are the one who suffer, when they have to work long hours (during housemanship)... Doctor is really not a simple job... u have to be devoted to ur job, dedicated to ur patients, and be kindhearted to all ur patients... if u dun have the heart for the job, u will not early make ur own life miserable, but also add external pain to the patients as they are not getting the "true" doctor... they are not in good hands...

it is really selfish for those who do not want to be a doctor or any other profession to deny someone else's place...

the best course to take right now, is the course which u like and can earn u a living...
DecentMerson is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 22-11-2004 Default

Originally Posted by DecentMerson
anyway, just want to voice my opinion that u(can be anyone, no particular target here) shld pursue the course that u like... which u are interested in... if u think that it won't earn u a paycheck, then, choose another line which u still interested in and can also earn u a living... coz, ur choice of courses will decide what u will do in ur entire life... so, u dun really want to base ur life on something which u are not interested in for ur entire life, i don't think that u will lead a happy life...
Exactly

When in doubt, google!
screw3d is offline   Reply With Quote
kevinkhoo1986

#5 Old 22-11-2004 Default

Originally Posted by lzyee
what about Architecture ??
is there anyone here taking architecture or want to take the course?.
Ya me! I am aiming architecture course. What about you?
kevinkhoo1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
infested_ysy

#6 Old 23-11-2004 Default

Don't get it wrong. I am interested in pharmacy and all things chemistry. Just needed more info on that pharmacy course.

And I don't think that doctor = pharmacist.
infested_ysy is offline   Reply With Quote
lzyee

#7 Old 23-11-2004 Default

yes,i'm going to take architecture.now i'm undergoing MOE matriculation. maybe next year july la.what do u think about the universities ?i'm from hayat(biology) so could not enter UM ..but others .can.
next .what about the types of architecture?i saw there are many:
something like reka bentuk ....lanskap...interior degisn ...what are there
kevinkhoo1986

#8 Old 23-11-2004 Default

Originally Posted by lzyee
yes,i'm going to take architecture.now i'm undergoing MOE matriculation. maybe next year july la.what do u think about the universities ?i'm from hayat(biology) so could not enter UM ..but others .can.
next .what about the types of architecture?i saw there are many:
something like reka bentuk ....lanskap...interior degisn ...what are there
Finally i found someone who have the same ambitious with me Nice to meet you.

Personally i am aiming for USM for architecture course and UTM will be my second choice. UM has never crossed in my mind although it is highest ranking local university in Malaysia. It is because USM and UTM offered the better architecutre course than UM. Furthermore they have more variety of courses regarding to architecture course.

To be frankly, i still could not differentiate types of architecture courses like you. But for the first few years(i think is 3 years) We will be studying the same thing then only it split to few types of architecture courses.

Here are the requirement for admission to local U.
Syarat Am Kemasukan Universiti:
1. Lulus SPM/setaraf dgn baik
2. Lulus dgn Kepujian dlm BM di peringkat SPM/setaraf
3. Lulus perperiksaan STPM dgn sekrg-krgnya:
Gred C (NGMP 2.00) mata pelajaran PA; dan
Gred C (NGMP 2.00) matapelajaran lain
4. Telah mengambil MUET

UM
Sarjana Muda Senibina (6 semester)

Memenuhi Syarat Am Universiti serta:
Lulus dgn sekurang-kurangnya kepujian dalam 5 matapelajaran termasuk Matematik di peringkat SPM/setaraf;

dan

Lulus dengan sekurang-kurangnya Gred C (NGMP 2.00) dalam matapelajaran Fizik dan Matematik T di peringkat STPM

USM
Perumahan, Bangunan dan Perancangan (Senibina, Reka Bentuk Dalaman, Perancangan Bandar dan Wilayah, Teknologi Binaan, Pengurusan Binaan dan Ukur Bahan) (6 semester)

Lulus dgn sekrg-krgnya Gred C (NGMP 2.00) kombinasi dua matapelajaran berikut:
- Fizik
- Kimia
- Biologi
- Ekonomi
- Geografi
- Sejarah
- Seni Visual
- Matematik S/Matematik T/Matematik Lanjutan T

UKM
Sarjana muda Sains Senibina (6 semester)

Lulus dgn sekrg-krgnya Gred C (NGMP 2.00) dlm matapelajaran berikut:
- Matematik T/Matematik Lanjutan T
- Fizik
- Kimia

atau

- Matematik T/Matematik Lanjutan T
- Kimia
- Biologi
- Lulus dgn sekrg-krgnya 4B dlm matapelajaran Fizik di peringkat SPM

dan

Lulus dlm ujian lukisan yg dikendalikan oleh Fakulti

UPM
Bacelor Reka Bentuk (Senibina)

Sekrg-krgnya mendapat Gred C (NGMP 2.00) dlm 2 drp matapelajaran berikut pada peringkat STPM:
- Fizik
- Biologi
- Matematik T/Matematik S
- Ekonomi
- Seni Lukis/Seni Visual
- Geografi

UTM
Sarjana Muda Senibina (10 semester)

Lulus sekrg-krgnya Gred C (NMGP 2.00) dlm mana-mana kombinasi 2 matapelajaran berikut:

- Fizik
- Lukisan/Seni Visual
- Kimia Biologi
- Ekonomi
- Sejarah
- Geografi
- Pengkomputeran
- Pengajian Perniagaan
- Perakaunan
- BM
- Kesusasteraan Melayu/Literature in English
- Bahasa Arab/Bahasa Cina/Bahasa Tamil
- Syariah/Usuludin

dan

Lulus dgn kepujian dlm matapelajaran Matematik di peringkat SPM/setaraf

Tidak rabun warna

Lulus ujian temuduga yg dikendalikan oleh UTM

UIAM
Ijazah Sarjana Muda Sains (Pengajian Senibina) (6 semester)

Memenuhi Syarat Am Kemasukan Universiti serta:
Memperolehi Kepujian 4B dlm BI/BI 1119 di peringkat SPM

atau

Lulus MUET sekrg-krgnya Band 3

Lulus sekrg-krgnya 4B dlm Matematik di peringkat SPM/setaraf

Memperolehi Kepujian dlm mana-mana 3 matapelajaran lain di peringkat SPM/setaraf

dan

Lulus penuh sekrg-krgnya Gred C (NGMP 2.00) di peringkat STPM dalam mana-mana 2 matapelajaran berikut:
- Fizik
- Kimia
- Biologi
- Ekonomi
- Sejarah
- Geografi
- Seni Visual
kevinkhoo1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
lzyee

#9 Old 24-11-2004 Default

USM &UTM have more varities of "seni bina"?i am not sure about it .but u may have a look in my college website to get more information :
http://www.kmk.matrik.edu.my/kaunsel...trik/index.htm

are u sure that we will study for the same thing for first 3 year?
my friend use to tell me that she is doing the "pure " architecture in UM now (first year).do u know what did she mean?

by the way what are u doing now,kevinkhoo?i am doin MOE matriculation-biology
lzyee

#10 Old 24-11-2004 Default

beside,how much (STPM/matric)do we have to get to enter the course/?