Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

UiTM and non-Bumi's

Patrick

#21 Old 04-10-2005 Default Re: [b]uitm-platform for racial ...[/b]

Originally Posted by Gemini_gal

Being in uitm, it is undeniable that they give extra and i really mean extra privelledges for the bumi's. It is seen ieven in the dress code. We are suppose to wear bajukurung every mon's and fri's. Only long sleeves are allowed for women. Although the good side of this rule is seen that is- no revealing clothes visible, but let us look at the difficult part of it. Y can't we wear normal short sleeves? I do not think such clothes will pique anyone.. The studies are also predicated for them, askew towards English Language.
You're lucky. My place here requires the female students to wear baju kurung every day and the male ones have to wear formal daily.

O_o
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
nick_khaw

#22 Old 04-10-2005 Default

Originally Posted by Patrick
I think that this worsening problem concerning racial integration is mainly because of the mindset that most Malaysians have.

You see, the Chinese tend to think that they're better than others. They will only mix with those whom they think is of their standard.
That's why in my college, although not UiTM, and in some other institutions (high school, tuition centres), it's really difficult to mix with them due to their snobbish character.

On the other hand, some Malays are inferior to the Chinese. They don't want to embarass themselves. As a result, we see them mingling only with the ones of the same skin colour as them. Some even think that the Chinese are plague-bearers. They think that the Chinese bring negative influences such as gambling, and is often associated with vulgarity.

Take note that I used the word "tend" and "some." Not everyone thinks the same way. This is just one generalisation from my observation.

As I am in a Malay-dominated college, it's almost impossible to survive without making friends with them. It's not difficult actually. One just has to break the ice. Show them that we're good people. Justify our sincerity.

And, there are capable Malays out there, but their reputation is tarnished by the less capable ones. Let's see it this way. We're all equal. There are good Malays, and there are bad ones. It's the same when it comes to the Chinese, the Indians, Punjabis, etc.
I think that that was a fantastic post, very mature and very to the point. In fact, this thread is a good one, where people are able to air their views on polarization while not exactly crossing the lines of bashing.

Racial issues, as Gemini_gal said, have always been, is, and will always be a sensitive issue. However, let us try to take the opinions from each other, whether it criticizes our own race or not, with a pinch of salt, and take it as a point of discussion.
nick_khaw is offline   Reply With Quote

#23 Old 06-10-2005 Default

i wonder if we can sometime in the future just sit around and talk just about everything including the so-called sensitive issues without us being too emotional...

it's not that when it's sensitive, we can't discuss it properly, but the current malaysian mindset is that we can't even touch on that topic for fear of ethnical confrontation...

imho, sensitive issues are the most important and dangerous issues facing us right now in malaysia, if we can't even solve these issues in a harmonic way, we can't ever be truely united...

and hey, if this can come true, we might even one day minum kopi together and joke about the silly past that we have... and i am glad that recom had provided us with such a platform, though not that effectively...hehe...

#24 Old 06-10-2005 Default

I just thought of this, and it may well be illogical. Will things be better if everyone is thought the main mother tongue languages? Everyone regardless of race is thought malay, mandarin as well as tamil or asked to choose another language other than the mother tongue. It will be more difficult initially to cope with the amount i guess, but on the long run, it would probably improve the situation by a little.

In my opinion, there isnt really much tension going around as much anymore. Maybe tensions in education and economics, but in the streets, i don't see much of them. But then again, maybe i havent seen society upclose.

IMHO, there's no point in our discussion either, we will never come to a conclusion that is feasible for change.
Zeroth is offline   Reply With Quote