France Engineering 2011

bush

#101 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

Sais-tu que l'?ducation de fran?aise est gratuite? Tu as ?t? 'troll?' par le gouvernemente de malaisie...........
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
chuanpang Male

#102 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

bah, mais le gouvernement nous donne l'allocation environ 900euros par mois, si on calcule, il sera 10800euros par an et 54k euros en 5annees. en RM, il coute RM216k. Ce n'est pas petite somme en fait. pour moi, c'est TROP. Ma famille ne peut jamais "afford". Considerons juste l'allocation mensuelle pendant 5 annees, c'est ok pour etre ete "bonded" pendant 6 annees quand nous retournerons en Malaisie. C'est juste mon avis.

Last edited by chuanpang; 17-04-2011 at 12:21 PM.
chuanpang is offline   Reply With Quote
SarahC Female

#103 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

Hhaahha durian. Ehh how much do they give every month if studying in local U? I mean the allowance
SarahC is offline   Reply With Quote
AlternateF4 Male

#104 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

HEY. I applied for the course. How do you guys read the accents in this forum? I can't read them. Tried different encodings.
AlternateF4 is offline   Reply With Quote
MrHoww Male

#105 Old 18-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

Originally Posted by chuanpang View Post
bah, mais le gouvernement nous donne l'allocation environ 900euros par mois, si on calcule, il sera 10800euros par an et 54k euros en 5annees. en RM, il coute RM216k. Ce n'est pas petite somme en fait. pour moi, c'est TROP. Ma famille ne peut jamais "afford". Considerons juste l'allocation mensuelle pendant 5 annees, c'est ok pour etre ete "bonded" pendant 6 annees quand nous retournerons en Malaisie. C'est juste mon avis.
Nombreux etudiant qui obtenir ce bourse d'etude ne pas veulent a retourner a malaisie car selon a nos, malaisie est pas un bonne place, les travails exister dans nous pays est pas donner un haute salaire... Juste comme mon amis soeur, elle ne pas a retourner a malaisie a partir de Canada... Desole pour mon bad francais...

Originally Posted by AlternateF4 View Post
HEY. I applied for the course. How do you guys read the accents in this forum? I can't read them. Tried different encodings.
Je ne pas pensez que ce forum soutient accents...

Originally Posted by scatcherer View Post
u got 8A+ rite??? high chance i think..anyway hope tat all recomers are sucessful haha
Merci beaucoup! I hope that all the recommers I met here will get this prestigious scholarship.

Originally Posted by weiliang View Post
confident-nya howw!

more people will come here when the jpa result is out. ^^
Awak juga kena confident sikit...Kalau tidak, minda anda surrender before the scholarship surrender kepada you.

The Louvre Palace, my hope, my fear.
Le palais du Louvre, mon espoir, ma peur.
May you make my dreams come true?
Peut-tu realiser mes reves?
Let the star shines,
Que les etoiles brillent,
To illuminate my dreams.
Pour eclairer mes reves.
Merci beaucoup a Neutral-ph pour ton aide!!

Last edited by MrHoww; 18-04-2011 at 02:58 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
MrHoww is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#106 Old 18-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

A french education for a 6-year bond. I don't know if it's a good trade off. Considering once one is fluent in french one can work in Switzerland for an annual pay of 70-80k francs(<RM300k) compared to a lowly RM25k with the Malaysian government for 6 years..........

If you look at the french embassy website, if you have a minimum of ~500 euros a month, you can pretty much survive outside of paris. I know people who are paying like 150 euros a month for rent before housing aid. You just have to find a colocataire or move in with the landlord or stay in government subsidised residences. So studying in france is not really as expensive as you would have thought. Further, your schengen visa allows you to work, being a floor warden(with shifts) can earn you about 80 euros a
week, do that for a month and you'll have 320 euros.

You will also be free in the summer, so you can actually work and save up for the next academic year.

Think about it.........a french degree is only as good as it can be if you can work with the a french company or some MNCs in France and Europe. Once you're back in asia, where brand name ALWAYS matter, you'll be at a disadvantage even if you're the best.
MrHoww Male

#107 Old 18-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

Originally Posted by bush View Post
A french education for a 6-year bond. I don't know if it's a good trade off. Considering once one is fluent in french one can work in Switzerland for an annual pay of 70-80k francs(<RM300k) compared to a lowly RM25k with the Malaysian government for 6 years..........

If you look at the french embassy website, if you have a minimum of ~500 euros a month, you can pretty much survive outside of paris. I know people who are paying like 150 euros a month for rent before housing aid. You just have to find a colocataire or move in with the landlord or stay in government subsidised residences. So studying in france is not really as expensive as you would have thought. Further, your schengen visa allows you to work, being a floor warden(with shifts) can earn you about 80 euros a
week, do that for a month and you'll have 320 euros.

You will also be free in the summer, so you can actually work and save up for the next academic year.

Think about it.........a french degree is only as good as it can be if you can work with the a french company or some MNCs in France and Europe. Once you're back in asia, where brand name ALWAYS matter, you'll be at a disadvantage even if you're the best.
According to the current situation of the society, your result is not the most important, but your money plays a significant role in aiding you enrolling in renowned universities. For the lucky ones, of course with satisfactory results, scholarship is the only way to help them going internationally and to acquire an overseas degree. So, for a poor or rather moderate income family, what is their choice considering that MOST of the students prefer studying overseas for exposure and experience, we have to accept any condition offered by the government or non-government organisations if they willingly granted us the scholarship. There is no free lunch in this world.

Let the star shines,
To illuminate my dreams.
Pour eclairer mes reves.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MrHoww For This Useful Post:
bush

#108 Old 18-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

Originally Posted by MrHoww View Post
According to the current situation of the society, your result is not the most important, but your money plays a significant role in aiding you enrolling in renowned universities. For the lucky ones, of course with satisfactory results, scholarship is the only way to help them going internationally and to acquire an overseas degree. So, for a poor or rather moderate income family, what is their choice considering that MOST of the students prefer studying overseas for exposure and experience, we have to accept any condition offered by the government or non-government organisations if they willingly granted us the scholarship. There is no free lunch in this world.
True, money is important. However, many people do not calculate how affordable an European education can be. France can really be affordable if you are willing to work in the summer and not spendthrift during the term.

One can rent a place for like 150 euros a month and get by with 250 euros a month. If one works part time, things get even better.

Now unless one's household income is less than RM1.5k a month, studying overseas can be a possibility. If a household earns less than that, even studying in Malaysia will be a problem.

The point here is that for the middle class, it is possible to go to France and Germany to study. There is no real need for government sponsorship. If one speaks french or german fluently, which one will after 5 years of studies, one won't want to go home since one will be so marketable.

Imagine this, one is from an average background. Speaks 3 languages + german or french, is flexible and opened, gets a government scholarship to germany. End of the studies, totally fluent in german and excelled in the degree. Now, if one was sponsored one will have to go home and deal with malaysian bureaucracy or one could easily find something in Germany or Switzerland. If one is really underprivileged then too bad but if one can pull it off by oneself, why not?
AlternateF4 Male

#109 Old 18-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

I think the living cost in France isn't as cheap as you guys think. I have asked my French teacher, and she said she can only barely live by with 1000 euro per month especially in urban areas, and told me not to think that it's a lot of money. I also heard of ppl saying, go get a part time job there to earn a living. As easy as it is said, it's not at all. Basically, it's hard to even get a job there (around 10+ percent of French are unemployed), especially for Asians.
AlternateF4 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlternateF4 For This Useful Post:
MrHoww Male

#110 Old 18-04-2011 Default Re: France Engineering 2011

Originally Posted by bush View Post
True, money is important. However, many people do not calculate how affordable an European education can be. France can really be affordable if you are willing to work in the summer and not spendthrift during the term.

One can rent a place for like 150 euros a month and get by with 250 euros a month. If one works part time, things get even better.

Now unless one's household income is less than RM1.5k a month, studying overseas can be a possibility. If a household earns less than that, even studying in Malaysia will be a problem.

The point here is that for the middle class, it is possible to go to France and Germany to study. There is no real need for government sponsorship. If one speaks french or german fluently, which one will after 5 years of studies, one won't want to go home since one will be so marketable.

Imagine this, one is from an average background. Speaks 3 languages + german or french, is flexible and opened, gets a government scholarship to germany. End of the studies, totally fluent in german and excelled in the degree. Now, if one was sponsored one will have to go home and deal with malaysian bureaucracy or one could easily find something in Germany or Switzerland. If one is really underprivileged then too bad but if one can pull it off by oneself, why not?
But according to what I know, if scholarship is granted. There will be no need for you to go out from your campus and seeking for a part-time job. So you may concentrate on your studies because it is NOT easy for you to enroll and maintain your satisfactory performance in Classe Preparatoire aux Grande Ecole under SFERE Program , it is considered stressful in the education of France. However, for a scholar filtered from piles of applicants would take advantage because they are the elites among the others.

If you are completely reluctant to work for the organisation granted you the sponsorship, you could repay the debt as you work in French/German speaking countries, the potential is unlimited, no doubt, as far as human can go, so can you. As you earn Euros, I don't think it is a problem for you to clear the debts. For the future 10 years, the debts would probably been cleared and you are free to start your own life in Europe. I guess 33 is not considered as too 'matured' in order to pursue the things you really wanted.

En conclure, a hard life ahead yeah...

Let the star shines,
To illuminate my dreams.
Pour eclairer mes reves.

Last edited by MrHoww; 18-04-2011 at 08:58 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
The Following User Says Thank You to MrHoww For This Useful Post: