Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

10th Sarawak state election

shuwenteo
Cremated

#1 Old 11-04-2011 Default 10th Sarawak state election

EC Chairman: 18,363 postal voters for Sarawak elections, "comprising 11,738 soldiers, 6,591 police personnel and 34 who are overseas".

Only 34 Sarawakians overseas?

BERNAMA - Sarawak Election: 80 Teams To Monitor Campaigning

Last edited by shuwenteo; 11-04-2011 at 07:39 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
shuwenteo is offline   Reply With Quote
surayahamdan Female

#2 Old 11-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

meh. I was there when Najib lost his seat in Pekan '99. Despite massive revamping of electoral boundaries, he only managed 214 majoriy - and that is after 500 unknown postal voters coming in at 11pm (or 9pm I can't remember), way past the legal 7pm closing time for anymore votes to come in. If PAS did not get their guards down that night we might still have that sleeping guy as the PM now.

One can only guess what they're capable of doing in Sarawak.

Democracy is a seriously flawed system.

#3 Old 11-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

I agree but wat 2 do. All v cn do is hope for change the way d political tsunami in 2008 happen.

#4 Old 14-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

not everyone overseas can vote

govt officials, goct-sponsored students can

which i wonder, if i was under jpa, who would I vote? *jeng jeng jeng* XD

Last edited by iKoMetaga; 14-04-2011 at 03:47 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
iKoMetaga is offline   Reply With Quote
unsolvedcryptex Male

#5 Old 14-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

Ubah! If not, Poco-poco will be banned at Sarawak, too. Kidding.
The Following User Says Thank You to unsolvedcryptex For This Useful Post:
shuwenteo
Cremated

#6 Old 16-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

BN retains two-thirds majority but Sarawak?s fixed deposit shattered

By Jahabar Sadiq
Editor
April 16, 2011
KUCHING, April 16 ? The Barisan Nasional (BN) has managed to keep its two-thirds legislative majority in Sarawak but today?s results have shattered the coalition?s invincibility and the notion of a fixed deposit in future elections.

The DAP doubled its presence to 12 and PKR tripled its representation although the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) lynchpin had contested in 49 seats. PAS lost in all five seats it contested while Independent George Lagong gained one seat.

The number of state seats to the Opposition pact will spell danger for BN as it could help them win more parliamentary seats when the general election is called by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak. PR now has 75 MPs but the Sarawak win could translate into more in the future.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/m...sit-shattered/
shuwenteo is offline   Reply With Quote
KenT13

#7 Old 16-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

Lola spent half a billion on election???

#8 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

Originally Posted by KenT13 View Post
Lola spent half a billion on election???
our tax payers money. haiz...

#9 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

Taib is still not steping down

Last edited by KenT13; 17-04-2011 at 10:35 AM.
KenT13 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to KenT13 For This Useful Post:
senksiang90 Male

#10 Old 17-04-2011 Default Re: 10th Sarawak state election

LOL. i would've vote but i am still 20 at the moment. dang.