Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships

Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

unsolvedcryptex Male

#31 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by qing212 View Post
huh.. tis is so unfair.
columbia!?? wat course??

huh? he did get it. through aus gov i guess??

hey this is cool^^
if u dun mind, may i know which uni are u in?
For your question about the Yale admitted with scholarship, he was awarded scholarship and studies at Intec before admitted into Yale.

littlewheatgrass is inside University of Edinburgh

Originally Posted by IAmYourNightmare View Post
Does not appear to be the case for this year. I went to JPA immediately after I got an offer from the University of Michigan (early February), and they only said this program was "masih dalam kajian" (No idea what he meant.)

And I personally went to JPA again, on March 25th, after I got my offer from UC Berkeley, still "masih dalam kajian", and I still haven't heard anything yet.

One plausible explanation? This scholarship is no longer available. Budget deficits?

I really don't mean to doubt your words, but Yale arranges admitted students based on country of origin, and it is definitely true that only 1 Malaysian got into Yale last year (another American in Malaysia also got in, but he's not Malaysian). Unless, your brother is not Malaysian? [P.S. What do you mean 'through aus gov'?]

Hey nightmare, nice to see you here.

Let me give you a hint on who I am:
I am also admitted into UCLA, and I have added u on facebook a week ago.

Don't worry, will keep your profile low. Glad that you are willing to join the discussion despite getting something bigger than this. ( That's very humble and nice)

Last edited by unsolvedcryptex; 08-04-2011 at 10:04 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
unsolvedcryptex is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to unsolvedcryptex For This Useful Post:
ayjiahui Female

#32 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by qing212 View Post
huh.. tis is so unfair.
columbia!?? wat course??
i suggest you scroll up to read what IAmYourNightmare had previously mentioned about US not requiring you to declare your 'course' (major, as it is more commonly known in the states).

Nobody will ever win the Battle of the Sexes. There's just too much fraternizing with the enemy.
~Henry Kissinger

(looking for people to parler français! PM me!)
ayjiahui is offline   Reply With Quote
unsolvedcryptex Male

#33 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Just to clarify this, which was brought up by nightmare, although I posted some of my guide here, it doesn't mean it will work this year. Budget deficit may be one cause of the scholarship being "stopped" temporarily. However, just give it a try. You will never know.

Originally Posted by ayjiahui View Post
i suggest you scroll up to read what IAmYourNightmare had previously mentioned about US not requiring you to declare your 'course' (major, as it is more commonly known in the states).
to qing, Double Major in Maths and Physics.

Last edited by unsolvedcryptex; 08-04-2011 at 10:07 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
unsolvedcryptex is offline   Reply With Quote
adele123 Female

#34 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

I got this scholarship about 2 years ago, currently in my 2nd year.

I applied by mail, send it to xxx (forgot who) to which the address is the same as the on posted on post #3

I'm studying actuarial in ANU and i am post STPM students... straight A's in SPM and 3.92 in STPM.

Apparently JPA doesn't give scholarship to those who are studying actuarial anymore

#35 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

@unsolvedcryptex,
Haha, I think I know who you are! Decided on which university yet?

@adele123,
Yeah, apparently, JPA also removed computer science (and a lot of other courses) this year.

Anyway, lots of my friends also applied for this scholarship (they just submitted their application, and the JPA officer 'holds on' to it for them, until further notice), and none of them heard anything yet. But who knows? Despite being late, they still might decide to offer the aforementioned scholarship afterall.
IAmYourNightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to IAmYourNightmare For This Useful Post:
unsolvedcryptex Male

#36 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

@unsolvedcryptex,
Haha, I think I know who you are! Decided on which university yet?

@adele123,
Yeah, apparently, JPA also removed computer science (and a lot of other courses) this year.

Anyway, lots of my friends also applied for this scholarship (they just submitted their application, and the JPA officer 'holds on' to it for them, until further notice), and none of them heard anything yet. But who knows? Despite being late, they still might decide to offer the aforementioned scholarship afterall.
Nah, not yet!

Second the last statement. You have nothing to lose if you apply. Disappointments may surface, but what's worse than not applying at all while others get it?
qing212 Female

#37 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by ayjiahui View Post
oh. soz i din realise tat comment

I really don't mean to doubt your words, but Yale arranges admitted students based on country of origin, and it is definitely true that only 1 Malaysian got into Yale last year (another American in Malaysia also got in, but he's not Malaysian). Unless, your brother is not Malaysian? [P.S. What do you mean 'through aus gov'?] Anyway, no point arguing.
?? huh?? u are making me messed up.. lol. guess i got to confirm with him 1st. no need to argue la. small matter~

Last edited by qing212; 08-04-2011 at 02:48 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
qing212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Hollowic Male

#38 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by yiling View Post

btw, Hollowic, u got offer from which uni and which course? XD being busybody here.
LSE L101, but I read through the previous post, and found that I still don't stand a good chance anyway =.=". But the funny thing about LSE is that their overall ranking is freakin low but subject ranking is high~

Anyway I got offers from some universities like University of Edinburgh, University of ST Andrew, University of Melbourne and University of Sydney, although they are not the TOP 20s, but I guess no harm to send all these unconditional offers to JPA right? Or I need to choose one offer only to send to JPA?

Originally Posted by unsolvedcryptex View Post
2) Do it ASAP to avoid losing the seats
and anyway, I guess I should send up my application and documents to JPA now to be the "not-so-early early bird" xD. But is it okay to send up my documents although Mr.Andinor told me that they still havent confirm about this scholarship?

Thanks in advanced for help~

Cambridge A-Level 2010 Leaver of Disted College Penang

now looking for money to go overseas
Hollowic is offline   Reply With Quote
unsolvedcryptex Male

#39 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Hollowic, nice signature. The last line. XD
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to unsolvedcryptex For This Useful Post:
Hollowic Male

#40 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Honesty is good xD

anyway should I send in my application now?

Cambridge A-Level 2010 Leaver of Disted College Penang

now looking for money to go overseas
Hollowic is offline   Reply With Quote