Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships

Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

IAmYourNightmare Male

#21 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by qing212 View Post
i wonder is this programme still exist this year. Even Encik Andinor also doesn't know.
Lol, the universities ranking isn't taken into consideration last year, i suppose. As long as is medic, in Edinburgh or Monash (not even top 20) they got it. My brother with both Imperial and Yale offers fail to get it, coz not medic ==
Hi, it is indeed true that this JPA scholarship emphasizes on course more than your university. My senior who got into Columbia (Ivy!) was rejected for this scholarship in favor of the Melbournes and Sydneys in Australia. (which is weird..)

Are you sure your brother got into Yale? I do not know about Imperial, as >100 people get in every year, but last year, there was only 1 Malaysian who got into Yale, and he is on a scholarship. (Besides, Yale is full need and need-blind, why would one need a scholarship?)

Last edited by IAmYourNightmare; 07-04-2011 at 02:11 PM.
IAmYourNightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to IAmYourNightmare For This Useful Post:
acgerlok7 Male

#22 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

wat course did he get in for Columbia. wow! dats very awesome man.
acgerlok7 is offline   Reply With Quote
unknown567890

#23 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

hey i was accepted into UWA for accounting which is not in the top 20 unis but am i eligible to apply for this tajaan tambahan?

Last edited by unknown567890; 07-04-2011 at 03:41 PM.
unknown567890 is offline   Reply With Quote
ayjiahui Female

#24 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by unknown567890 View Post
hey i was accepted into UWA for accounting which is not in the top 20 unis but am i eligible to apply for this tajaan tambahan?
highly doubt it. from what i've heard they're quite strict! people who got admission to the listed unis already find it difficult to secure an offer. but no harm trying, i guess?

Nobody will ever win the Battle of the Sexes. There's just too much fraternizing with the enemy.
~Henry Kissinger

(looking for people to parler français! PM me!)
ayjiahui is offline   Reply With Quote
unknown567890

#25 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

but how do we actually apply? will there be form that i can get from jpa? or have self compose an application form?

Last edited by unknown567890; 07-04-2011 at 03:54 PM.
unknown567890 is offline   Reply With Quote
IAmYourNightmare Male

#26 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by acgerlok7 View Post
wat course did he get in for Columbia. wow! dats very awesome man.
Hi, when you apply to the US, there is no need to actually tell the university what course you want to take. Hence, many apply as "Undeclared", you only declare your major after your first year of undergraduate studies. BTW, he is doing a double major in Physics and Mathematics.
sugarspice Female

#27 Old 07-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by unknown567890 View Post
but how do we actually apply? will there be form that i can get from jpa? or have self compose an application form?
Hahaha, there is no application form for this scholarship. You will have to write a 'surat permohonan' yourself =D
sugarspice is offline   Reply With Quote
unsolvedcryptex Male

#28 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by IAmYourNightmare View Post
Hi, when you apply to the US, there is no need to actually tell the university what course you want to take. Hence, many apply as "Undeclared", you only declare your major after your first year of undergraduate studies. BTW, he is doing a double major in Physics and Mathematics.
I know him too.
For last year's case, the most probable explanation is that they have already given out a few scholarships to those 'early comers'. Because the decision of most of the US universities come later than Australia ones, those who obtain offer from Australian universities were given the scholarships.

My advice for those who wish to apply for this scholarship is as below:

1) Get an unconditional offer from a top university. top 20, should be ok as a good measure.
2) Do it ASAP to avoid losing the seats
3) 9As in SPM ( litthewheatgrass had only gotten 2As in SPM and still secure this scholarship, but the criterion which were set out 3 years back was 9As in SPM. She may have secured it, but it doesn't mean others would have the same luck)
4) Fulfill requirements for SAT/IELTS/TOEFL( This may sound weird for some, but even JPA scholars have to fulfill some SAT requirement. No difference for those who want to apply for this scholarship)
5) Documents prepared and certified
6) Surat Permohonan
7) Get a (appropriate) politician to pull you up ( I hate taking in politician in any discussion, but in this world/ Malaysia, specifically, it's not what you know but who you know eventually)
Wear decently, and speak decently.

Of course this is not meant to be applied to everyone. I have not applied for this scholarship and i am not a scholar under this program as well. Take it as a pinch of salt.

PS: and make sure the pre-u results is good

Last edited by unsolvedcryptex; 08-04-2011 at 12:54 AM.
unsolvedcryptex is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to unsolvedcryptex For This Useful Post:
qing212 Female

#29 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Hi, it is indeed true that this JPA scholarship emphasizes on course more than your university. My senior who got into Columbia (Ivy!) was rejected for this scholarship in favor of the Melbournes and Sydneys in Australia. (which is weird..)
huh.. tis is so unfair.
columbia!?? wat course??

Are you sure your brother got into Yale? I do not know about Imperial, as >100 people get in every year, but last year, there was only 1 Malaysian who got into Yale, and he is on a scholarship. (Besides, Yale is full need and need-blind, why would one need a scholarship?)
huh? he did get it. through aus gov i guess??

Originally Posted by littlewheatgrass View Post
Not true, I only scored 2A in SPM. As mentioned, as long as you got accepted by the Top University, they will consider you..no interview needed.
hey this is cool^^
if u dun mind, may i know which uni are u in?

Last edited by qing212; 08-04-2011 at 02:25 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
qing212 is offline   Reply With Quote
IAmYourNightmare Male

#30 Old 08-04-2011 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setaraf 2011

Originally Posted by unsolvedcryptex View Post
I know him too.
For last year's case, the most probable explanation is that they have already given out a few scholarships to those 'early comers'. Because the decision of most of the US universities come later than Australia ones, those who obtain offer from Australian universities were given the scholarships.

My advice for those who wish to apply for this scholarship is as below:

1) Get an unconditional offer from a top university. top 20, should be ok as a good measure.
2) Do it ASAP to avoid losing the seats
Does not appear to be the case for this year. I went to JPA immediately after I got an offer from the University of Michigan (early February), and they only said this program was "masih dalam kajian" (No idea what he meant.)

And I personally went to JPA again, on March 25th, after I got my offer from UC Berkeley, still "masih dalam kajian", and I still haven't heard anything yet.

One plausible explanation? This scholarship is no longer available. Budget deficits?

Originally Posted by qing212 View Post
huh? he did get it. through aus gov i guess??
I really don't mean to doubt your words, but Yale arranges admitted students based on country of origin, and it is definitely true that only 1 Malaysian got into Yale last year (another American in Malaysia also got in, but he's not Malaysian). Unless, your brother is not Malaysian? [P.S. What do you mean 'through aus gov'?] Anyway, no point arguing.

Last edited by IAmYourNightmare; 08-04-2011 at 10:02 AM.