SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

Stpm 2011/12

PowerScout Male

#1 Old 25-03-2011 Default Stpm 2011/12

Hey, I heard that this year STPM will start at September. Is that true?
PowerScout is offline   Reply With Quote
yiling Female

#2 Old 25-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

nah, heard that it'll be commencing on the third week of May. Plan to join form 6 too if i cant get any scholarship or matriculation.
yiling is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yiling For This Useful Post:
AllenChew Male

#3 Old 25-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

Originally Posted by PowerScout View Post
Hey, I heard that this year STPM will start at September. Is that true?
Impossible though, stpm is a foundation program, it's starting date normally will be the same as other foundation program like matriculation , which is around may...

the course that will be started on september is undergraduate courses in IPTA
The Following User Says Thank You to AllenChew For This Useful Post:
kaiyi Female

#4 Old 25-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

It's the public universities will start in September, not Form 6. I don't like this idea, hard to have vacation with families.

#5 Old 26-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

Thanks guys =D
PowerScout is offline   Reply With Quote
esy Male

#6 Old 27-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

i have some doubts and i hope senior members can help me here.
1)some of the members posted on threads here few years ago claiming that matriks students will always get an edge over stpm students when it comes to the entry of public university even though stpm students need to cover a more complicated syllabus and they get better result than matriks students.is it still true now?
2)if i apply pre-university scholarship offered by company and get selected will i continue to get sponsor after pre-university course for diploma/degree study?or it depends on the policy of the company?
3)will stpm leavers and a-level leavers be treated by same standard when they apply for private university scholarship?or it depends on the individual's achievement?
4)if i get good result in stpm will this certainly confirm me a place in public university and get the course i desire?or i need to accept course offered by the ministry of education which is not my priority?
esy is offline   Reply With Quote
weixiang Male

#7 Old 27-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

Originally Posted by esy View Post
i have some doubts and i hope senior members can help me here.
1)some of the members posted on threads here few years ago claiming that matriks students will always get an edge over stpm students when it comes to the entry of public university even though stpm students need to cover a more complicated syllabus and they get better result than matriks students.is it still true now?
Somehow, it's true. One of the advantages of being a matric student is that you're assured of a place in IPTA as long as you get good result. And most of the time, they will be placed in their 1st-4th choice.

Keep yourself updated with latest news here.
weixiang is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to weixiang For This Useful Post:
yiling Female

#8 Old 29-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

i heard that starting from this year, stpm will change from terminal to modular system, which is 3 semesters. Anyone heard about this? I heard it from my school teacher. If it's true, it'll be more or less the same as A-levels. So, anyone out there still planning to join A-levels changes their mind? You can save a few thousand ringgit by entering form 6, another great path to enter local and overseas university.
KenT13

#9 Old 29-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

Originally Posted by yiling View Post
i heard that starting from this year, stpm will change from terminal to modular system, which is 3 semesters. Anyone heard about this? I heard it from my school teacher. If it's true, it'll be more or less the same as A-levels. So, anyone out there still planning to join A-levels changes their mind? You can save a few thousand ringgit by entering form 6, another great path to enter local and overseas university.
Myth Busted! I called MOE and confirmed with them. A guy in charge of Upper Six education, Mr.Jamal said there is no changes. IF there is changes, they will sure announce in the newspaper. : D Clear?
So, still the same. Form 6 starts in May.end of may.

#10 Old 29-03-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011/12

NOOOO!!!! i was hoping it would change to modular system. Now, have to put in double effort. GungHo!