Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

CelineD Female

#21 Old 11-02-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

Hi fellow Recommers, don't mind me if I share my heart out here - not just about Valentine's but also this whole issue surrounding it.

BTW disclaimer: No offence to everyone, regardless of your beliefs. Apologies for that.

Valentine's Day is around the corner and news is going around the corner that good, pious Muslims should avoid celebrating it, as it is immoral, promotes promiscuity, and is the bad influence of Christians, so it must be avoided at all costs.

Now there's nothing wrong if you want to live a more moral lifestyle - in fact I personally would admire you for doing that. However, here's a sincere confession from a fellow Malaysian:

I'm a Malaysian Christian and all those accusations really hurt me.

It's not just Valentine's Day where they, the self-righteous religious people, will point a finger and say that I'm immoral and commit vices because of my beliefs - as far as I know immorality is shunned in the Bible! They (those self-righteous religious people) say that they must dress modestly and avoid us like avoiding some disease. I want to befriend them, but they set up a high wall shunning me from ever getting in, like they're some sort of exclusive club.

Wake up lah! They always equate Westerners to Christians and everything bad. FYI, how many real Bible-believing believers are there in the Western world? I suspect that more people there actually believe Eastern beliefs and spiritual designers! So would they say that all is bad influence too? Just because someone doesn't have the same beliefs doesn't make them any less of a human being! And stop saying that Eastern is all good and Western is all bad lah! Both also got pro and con, so stop painting the picture like we're so much more moral!

I took Form Six so I took up Tamadun Islam, which is actually a very interesting subject - so that I could know the history of other religions other than my own, and get to know my Muslim friends' beliefs better! It is an enjoyable subject until once again, they point fingers at us saying that we are bad influence and that we corrupted your holy books! I'm fine with it if that's what you believe, but can't you say it in a more matter of fact way? Knowing how many people take history as facts per se... Heard about respecting other people's beliefs while staying true to your own? They offend me to my face!

Now they can't even say "merry Christmas" to us anymore because that's Christian influence! Once a wish of goodwill that has no religious connotations (except to the ones celebrating it), they do it again! They sensor all the Christmas carols except those which are obviously secular - what, you think people can be converted by singing carols?

If I want to be self-righteous like them, I can. I can say that I'm Christian but still Malaysian, still Asian, dress modestly, and I don't fool around! But then I'll be just like them - not admitting that I'm imperfect, that I make mistakes and that I can be a hypocrite.

They have all the right to post nasty Facebook posts and news articles about how everything bad is our fault and how we deserve to die, yet I cannot do the same! I am so tempted to do so yet I choose not to because I don't want war!

Hypocrites! They tell people to be more moral but have they looked in the mirror today? Have they focused on helping people instead of telling people that they cannot do this and cannot do that? Of course they can, but do they really care for those people or they just want to look holy?

That's all...please, please understand that I'm not angry at religious people, just those who think they're all that.

Hmm...any opinions?

Here's my blog/writing wonderland: Deb's Ink Trail

nice to meet you :D
Twitter
CelineD is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CelineD For This Useful Post:
henry_yew Male
The Iron Boot

#22 Old 12-02-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

CelineD, your dissatisfaction is, in fact, understandable. I take it that any individual, religious or otherwise, Christian or not, would agree that those individuals who profess that Valentine's Day is associated with immorality and with Christian elements that are "bad" are just putting up a holier-than-thou attitude. They look at things merely on the surface without actually researching deeper into the roots of Valentine's Day.

Like it or not, CelineD, life is never like a bed of roses. It's sad indeed that you have to put up with all the asinine, (in)direct accusations that "Christian elements are bad" and that "Western elements erode our morality". Of course, authors of textbooks and religious leaders could have been more objective in wording their statements, and could have been more factual, rather than registering an opinion as a fact.

#23 Old 17-02-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

- There are many other pressing priorities, such as the economy, our investments and trade with other countries, the education system, road and transport system, public service systems, etc but we - the country - choose to focus on silly issues like this.

- We focus on issues like this because we can afford to; we can spend all our time and days thinking and debating and creating laws, measures, etc and somehow still find a way to put food on the table, with minimal effort - as compared to other nations - because we, for now, can.

- We are fast losing ground to Indonesia and Thailand, our nearest neighbors. We may think the major export of these countries are labourers and odd workers but it will come to a point where they will cease to work in Malaysia simply because they get paid better in their country. I have been there - on business trips, not tourist trips and vacations; and it is there where noticed their mindset and work attitude, a vast difference.

- They have to remain competitive due to their population, as everyone is treated as expendables. As a businessman I understand the problems with human resource and staff in the country - it isn't looking good.

- I can either choose to fight back against the system and complain and berate, lament the facts of this country and stick my head out on the front line, or I celebrate the fact that I don't need anymore competition, fly under the radar and while everyone is busy with silly issues, slowly build up a strong foundation and turn it into an empire.

Just my two wheels (cents).

#24 Old 20-02-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

Dah tahu lah valentine's haram......tapi cakap taik tu memang tak laku lah.

sebabnya senang saja, orang semua ni tak pernah keluar negeri, tak pernah tinngal luar negeri kaji dan perhatikan cara hidup orang asing.....bagi banyak orang muslim di malaysia yang duduk kat bawah tempurung, orang putih=orang kristian=kurang pegangan hidup=tak bermoral semua lah............tapi orang putih sekarang, banyak tak beragama. entah bagaimana dalam fikiran kebanyakan orang muslim di Malaysia, orang putih=orang kristian.......

I can live with people with differences but I can't live with ignoramuses that think they know it all and do not even bother to re-examine their viewpoints. Sadly, it feels that mainstream islamic media in Malaysia is moving towards a form of kejahilan. It ain't gonna be good.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
frankchong

#25 Old 08-03-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

The following statistic made public by the Medical department in Kuching shows the incidences of reported STDs in Kuching by age and race. Noting that Malay is the minority in Kuching and yet it has the highest number of cases of STDs. Malays are by defination Muslims. So if Valentine's day and Christianity is associated with moral degradation (bad influence on the Muslims), the data seem to suggest otherwise.

古晋性病患者增加.三婴孩无辜被传染

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(古晋23日讯)古晋省的性病患者增加,血气方刚的30岁以下青年为最,也有小童可怜受害! 古晋省医务局传播性疾病控制单位主任罗兹娜医生披露,去年该局接获261宗性病报告,较往年增 加。
她称,古晋地区的病患人数是年均增长5巴仙,相等于每10万人口就出现30到35宗病例,以古晋现有的约7 0万人口而言,是不容忽视的。

她表示,这还是医务局有接报的数字,恐怕是冰山一角,因相信还有许多得病者是通过私人诊所、医院求医的情况 。

她今天在南市市政局联同多个单位包括医务局、土地与测量局、警方等向按摩中心业者举行的一项汇报会上如是透 露。

31岁以下最多人中招

她指出,去年医务局接报的古晋261名性病患者当中,年龄20岁到29岁之间的青年最多,占146人,男性 患者有118人,主要是寻花问柳或滥交得病而付出风流的代价。

但不幸的是,有2名女婴和一名男婴尚在妈妈肚子时期即“中招”,诞生下来后被查出染有性病病毒 。

罗兹娜医生说,小孩子在母亲怀胎时染病,主要是母亲被枕边人传染到性病,性病也祸殃危害到孩子的神经和心脏 器官等。

其他病患的年龄阶层为0到12岁三人,13岁至19岁43人,30到39岁37人,50岁或以上年纪19人 ,以及40到49岁13人。

她称,性病患者当中,马来族排名榜首共有140人,华族是25人,其他比达友族38人,伊班族37人,马兰 诺族4人,外国人5人,以及其他种族12人。

基于追查出的病源多数来自性工作者,她提醒按摩中心业者勿让这类人趁虚而入进行不道德活动。

她也说,得性病者,通常是3到5天内会发病,所出现的症状是小便疼痛,还会流出黄色液体,女性患者还会感觉 肚疼等。

她表示,性病患者若不治愈,其后遗症和杀伤力大,男女的生殖器官都会受到伤害和波及身体机能,多数是不能再 生育。
frankchong is offline   Reply With Quote
eversummer Female

#26 Old 10-03-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

to put it simple, Valentine is a celebration with true intention to spread the message of love across, and also as a reminder for us to appreciate our loved ones. Valentine is just an occasion, for us to commemorate the joyous anniversary, accompanied by opportunities to express love to our families, friends and most distinctively, our significant other. perhaps it's because of the frenetic pace that the world is currently at, we hardly have a real chance to express our appreciation to our loved ones and thus an annual Valentine is the perfect respite for us to portray our sincerity and love. Sadly, with moral degradation and exaggerated fanaticism, the significance of Valentine has been marginalised, and worst, it has been woefully associated with religious sensitivity. Why the complications when Valentine is only as akin as to a simple birthday celebration? No arguments should have been sparked off over this lovely celebration, it is not Valentine that should be blamed for, but the attitude of ours.
eversummer is offline   Reply With Quote
deragoku Male

#27 Old 18-04-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

The theme occupied the minds of Malaysians, rather than how to improve our standard of living, this is a matter of time Malaysia became a failed state, once the oil and gas run out.

#28 Old 19-06-2012 Default Re: Valentine's Day - HARAM dalam Islam

Let's respect everyone's opinion. It does not matter what religion we have and the beliefs and traditions we are involved. All matter is the love and respect for every person.
chrystal is offline   Reply With Quote