Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

Islam Hadhari (progressive Islam programme)

Super Moderator

#1 Old 16-08-2004 Default Islam Hadhari (progressive Islam programme)

As we speak, Our current goverment is writting a new set of rules, a ew policy a new guidelines?

Well whatever it is just goes to show that We are stepping backwards. They (Mr Umno & co.) claim that it is for a more progressive Islam country.. hello? Haven't we learn anything? Religion+goverment doesnt go well?

For Muhammads/Jesus and Moses sake, please Badawi are you sure this is a good idea? Having Islam intergrated officially means more loopholes in the governance of Muslims. It would create more fanatics and will piss people who don't agree with the way the goverment embraces Islam.

From what i've read the Goverment is going to somehow use the Quran as the guide and advices from Ulama they pick.

Well why not use the bible as well? Some preachers would like a say in it too i bet. Might as well give Dalai Lama and Pope a ring to while your at it badawi. They all preach kindness dont they? Lets not be hypocrites.

I'm sure my fellow Malaysian Christians and buddhist wouldn't mind.
Thirdshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#2 Old 16-08-2004 Default

I would hope that some ReComers could share with us any information you know about Islam Hadhari concept. It is a new concept and I think that we should know the accurate information on this concept, before we make any comment.

Making any judgement or comment, without even fully understand this concept would just mean that we are casting aspersions on Pak Lah and the present government of Malaysia.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote

#3 Old 23-08-2004 Default

the reason why they wont use the bible is because muslims believe the bible was originally the word of god when its first revealed but it has been changed and now includes the word of man so it is no longer divine guidance. nobody knows which parts of it are divine and which arent. Malaysia is also a muslim majority country.
PJKru is offline   Reply With Quote
flibbertigibbet

#4 Old 17-04-2005 Default

This is basically what I found useful from the March issue of Dewan Masyarakat. I jotted down points I think are useful. And since they are in Malay, I would not take the trouble translating everything into English before posting them here.

Islam Hadhari:

- brainchild of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
- suggested that in the first meeting of Suruhanjaya Tokooh-tokoh Utama OIC, KL on 28th January 2005.
- based on 10 basic principles:
  • 1. Keimanan dan ketakwaan kepada Allah (I think Allah should be changed into Tuhan)
    2. Kerajaan adil dan beramanah
    3. Rakyat berjiwa merdeka
    4. Penguasaan ilmu pengetahuan
    5. Pembangunan ekonomi yang seimbang dan komprehensif
    6. Kehidupan berkualiti
    7. Pembelaan hak minoriti dan wanita
    8. Keutuhan budaya dan moral
    9. Pemuliharaan alam tabii
    10. Kekuatan pertahanan

Prasyarat membangunkan Islam Hadhari:
  • 1. Menyuburkan dialog peradaban di kalangan rakyat.
    2. Perkukuhkan pendekatan integrasi ilmu dan pendidikan supaya elemen ketamadunan dari semua pihak dapat dikembangkan berasaskan eika dan nilai manusiawi yang tinggi.
    3. Wujudkan bidang pengajian dan penyelidikan di IPT - elemen Hadhari sentiasa menjadi fokus kegiatan akademik/ilmiah.
    4. Perkukuhkan model bersifatkan Hadhari dalam proses pembangunan negara - proses kemodenan tidak menolak nilai adab, daya saing tinggi dan etika murni.

Basically, the 10 principles sound a lot similar to the ones for Vision 2020 (my personal opinion), which is a brainchild of Tun Dr. Mahathir.

#5 Old 20-09-2005 Default

Can someone please explain to me a bit more about islam hadhari.
PJKru is offline   Reply With Quote
petertok

#6 Old 21-09-2005 Default

Hey i just did a project about Islam Hadhari about 30+ pages...

Still have the files, would like to post but main forum seems to be an inappropirate post coz its too long..

Or you can go to http://www.islamhadhari.net/ to find out more.
petertok is offline   Reply With Quote
menj

#7 Old 21-09-2005 Default

Islam Hadhari is nonsense. It is just a label to fool the public into thinking that Pak Lah's government is "promoting Islam".

Islam has no labels. Islam is only "Islam", and no other.

Best regards.

- MENJ
menj is offline   Reply With Quote