SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

Stpm 2011

joan2468 Female

#171 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

Hey all, I've got a question if you don't mind ^_^

They say STPM takes a longer time, but it seems that both STPM and A-levels take 18 months/1.5 years, but you need to wait for your STPM results before you can apply to university. Is STPM said to use up more time purely because you can apply to university with A-levels trials result but you have to wait an additional few months for your actual STPM results before you can apply?
joan2468 is offline   Reply With Quote
yiling Female

#172 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

you can apply to universities using STPM forecast results too. I have one senior applied medicine in UK using his forecast. But for public university, yeah, you can only apply after getting ur actual results. Plus the intake is in September. So we'll be lacking behind 1-2 years compared to those who did those 1 year pre-u program.
yiling is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to yiling For This Useful Post:
joan2468 Female

#173 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

Thanks for the reply.

My parents are quite nervous about the prospect of me taking STPM, as they are convinced that it uses up too much time and that it is very very difficult, so they'd rather shell out the extra money for A-levels, haha.

But if they are really going to change STPM to a modular system by next year, I think I'd like to take STPM instead and spare my parents the additional RM10k. I've heard about matriculation students getting in much easier, but I'm a bit of a special case - the public uni course I want only accepts STPM (BA of English at UM). As for private uni option, if possible I'd like to apply for a scholarship and go to Nottingham Malaysia Campus. If not I'm likely to end up at UCSI.
Chelsea Female

#174 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

when applying to uk with form 6(stpm), when do you apply? I know you have to apply with UCAS. but do you apply for the uk with your real stpm results. Wont it be a little too late. the application closes on 15 Jan and yes I know for international students it closes on 30 June. but by then wont competition will be tight cos many places have been taken up. and when applying to oxbridge the closing date is even earlier, so does that mean we will miss it? or can we use our forecast ressults to get a conditional offer? what about for alevels? Can we use our as results?

#175 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

haha. my parents too. However, i wanna save their money and let them spend on my undergraduate instead. XD But a levels for 10k? that's cheap. If STPM really changes to modular system next year, i'd recommend u to take STPM.

btw, u're great!! Still in secondary school and ur english level ald superb, qualified for the ReMag writer!
joan2468 Female

#176 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

A-levels at Methodist College KL will only cost you RM12k for 3 subjects, and you qualify for a 25% scholarship with at least 5As for SPM. I'm banking on getting that scholarship so that my parents don't have to pay the full amount. Of course, would be nice if I could get 10As and not have them pay at all...
edge_seraph Male

#177 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

Originally Posted by Chelsea View Post
when applying to uk with form 6(stpm), when do you apply? I know you have to apply with UCAS. but do you apply for the uk with your real stpm results. Wont it be a little too late. the application closes on 15 Jan and yes I know for international students it closes on 30 June. but by then wont competition will be tight cos many places have been taken up. and when applying to oxbridge the closing date is even earlier, so does that mean we will miss it? or can we use our forecast ressults to get a conditional offer? what about for alevels? Can we use our as results?
Oh, you can do it in the midst of your STPM if you want to go to Oxbridge because the application closes right around September. Or, you can do it right after STPM finishes if you want to go to other UK universities besides Oxbridge. For me, I did the latter option 'cause I didn't even realise that there is this system called UCAS. And I applied right after the last paper finished and submitted my application 5 days before the 15th January deadline. XD

Last edited by edge_seraph; 27-04-2011 at 10:08 PM.
edge_seraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Chelsea Female

#178 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

thanks edge_seraph. but then the question is how do you apply? do you apply with your stpm forecast results? or your trials result?

#179 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

Originally Posted by Chelsea View Post
thanks edge_seraph. but then the question is how do you apply? do you apply with your stpm forecast results? or your trials result?
Like any other June intake A-levels/IB/Pre-University students, you apply with your forecast result.
edge_seraph is offline   Reply With Quote
yiling Female

#180 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Stpm 2011

Originally Posted by joan2468 View Post
A-levels at Methodist College KL will only cost you RM12k for 3 subjects, and you qualify for a 25% scholarship with at least 5As for SPM. I'm banking on getting that scholarship so that my parents don't have to pay the full amount. Of course, would be nice if I could get 10As and not have them pay at all...
dun forget about those miscellaneous fees, it's around 8k.