Social and Entertainment Corner Share your cool links, funny videos, discuss movies, music or ask for dating tips here :)

the mother of the prince of denmark

#1 Old 19-07-2004 Default the mother of the prince of denmark

any 1 read this in remag3??? i cant understand the last part which lead me to blur on the whole stry. any1 can clarify me on this??? i'm not very good at english literature.
naturesimple is offline   Reply With Quote

#2 Old 19-07-2004 Default

There are a lot of economics jargon inside the article. It's more like a satire to the anti-globalization article above (are third world countries being oppressed?). this is actually a good literature to be discussed.

but, before explain how it ends... I would rather pass it to __earth, the author himself... __earth, calling from Mars, grab this baton.
masterof_none is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#3 Old 20-07-2004 Default

Sorry, no offense to the author, but i feel the ending is very anti climax. The story started off finely, though we thought that the lady is the subject of the whole story... Perhaps the intro is a little longer and more than the isi? Which makes me think that globalization is only injected into the story to give the character of the lady... Well, the story developes slowly, slow enough to create tension in me, and then suddenly, BLAM! The story ends. No twist or whatsoever in the ending...

Sorry arr author... Dun really mean to criticize it that way, but can i know ur thesis?

#4 Old 20-07-2004 Default

i think globalization was the whole point of the story. The lady was just the medium, representing the young people of the world today.

I felt like it was a story of a dilemma, on one hand, we know the bad effects of globalization on third world countries but on the other we too are taking advantage and enjoying the perks of globalization.

but then again I may be reading too deeply into it.

~John Lennon
littlebigone is offline   Reply With Quote
gatecrasher

#5 Old 20-07-2004 Default

Originally Posted by ElansarGelmir
Sorry, no offense to the author, but i feel the ending is very anti climax...
Sorry arr author... Dun really mean to criticize it that way, but can i know ur thesis?
Yeah the ending seems to be hanging. What is he trying to illustrate with the allusion to a shakespeare play?
Furthermore, what message is the author trying to get across?
Sorry if i'm causing offence
gatecrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#6 Old 20-07-2004 Default

Maybe he should elaborate more about the globalization part in light of the girl's perception? We don't know what she thinks about globalization exactly, except for the first few paragraph of the essay she had written which suggests that she is an anti-global gal.

Arghhh!!! i think i give up editing my BTN's article. Can't find humor to inject into it. Scheisse!

#7 Old 20-07-2004 Default

hello.

just got back from DC.

the last part is actually refers to Hamlet.

The central story in Hamlet is revenge. Hamlet's father, the original king died and his mother vowed to not marry again. But soon enough, his mother married his uncle and Hamlet met his father ghost. The ghost told Hamlet that his mother and his uncle killed him.

Later, when Hamlet was investigating, he made a play and presented it in front of his uncle (the new king) and his mother to see their reaction. The play actually somewhat retold the things that happened to his mother.

and then, after the play, Hamlet asked his mother, "how do you like the play?"

his mother replied, the lady doth protest too much methink, not realizing yet that the play was about her. his uncle by that time knew that Hamlet knew.

so, i was trying to make a character parallel to Hamlet's mother.
ElansarGelmir Male

#8 Old 21-07-2004 Default

Huh?

Ok, i'm intrigued with the way u plot ur story... Kinda interesting, coz i didn't see a hamlet there... Can explain to me from the top to the last sentence "The lady doth protest too much, me think."

Who's the third person viewing this SHE? The professor, or the reader?

and err....

Onward she strolled to a green open space nearby while listening to Utada Hikaru's song on her new mp3 player. She bought it over the Internet last week. The mp3 player was imported from China across the Pacific by Creative Labs USA. Or was it Taiwan?
Did globlization just happen in the time of Hamlet? sorry, i'm very blur here. Care to enlighten me?

#9 Old 21-07-2004 Default

littlebigone correctly captures what I wanted to say.

Originally Posted by littlebigone
i think globalization was the whole point of the story. The lady was just the medium, representing the young people of the world today.

I felt like it was a story of a dilemma, on one hand, we know the bad effects of globalization on third world countries but on the other we too are taking advantage and enjoying the perks of globalization.

but then again I may be reading too deeply into it.
The "lady doth protest too much" quote is to potray hypocrisy if you are familiar with Hamlet. http://www.allshakespeare.com/quotes.php?id=287 is a link that tries to explain the quote from an audience of Shakespeare's POV.

If you are not familiar with Hamlet, I think it is still sufficient to explain how the girl is an hypocrite; she is enjoying globalization but yet, against globalization - which is what most anti-globalization people are doing. And thus, the implication that she is protesting too much.

#10 Old 21-07-2004 Default

naturesimple is offline   Reply With Quote