Window to the World Discussions of global issues and latest news.

Smoking

Laavania Female

#111 Old 24-04-2011 Default Re: Smoking

Originally Posted by kaiyi View Post
I don't think any country will succeed in banning smoking, simply because the smokers populations are too big and they'll against this.

Is smoking that addictive?(just asking out of curiousity)
Most smokers want to stop but they fail miserably.Smoking is a physical addiction that produces a "chain reaction" in the body.At a point when this smokers stop they may face severe emotional and physical reactions.

Last edited by Laavania; 26-04-2011 at 06:52 PM.
Laavania is offline   Reply With Quote

#112 Old 24-04-2011 Default Re: Smoking

Originally Posted by yanno_yamster View Post
Not to mention the amount of sin tax revenue that is lost if cigarettes are banned.
Actually I am not a big fan of this argument. I don't have the actual figure to back me up at this point, but I suspect that the loss we suffer from the loss of lives and productivity from cigarette smoking far outnumber the tax that we gain from cigarettes.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
ayja

#113 Old 26-04-2011 Default Re: Smoking

I know I may come on strongly on this but I don't see any benefit in smoking at all.

Taxes, income for farmers and all that stuff I don't buy. What's the point in making money if it's off harming people's health? It's killing people, and to me it's no different from blood diamonds.

Not to mention very annoying. I have a right to breathe fresh unpolluted air, unfortunately my room is right next to the side gate in the uni halls so every time I have to tolerate (and why should I have to?!) people smoking outside, which causes the cig smoke to enter my room.

Ten-ants!
ayja is offline   Reply With Quote
luke Male
KittyLover

#114 Old 26-04-2011 Default Re: Smoking

Rather than banning smoking, maybe we should put up a law that smokers need to carry a plastic bag that they need to blow the smoke into when they smoke. Or they can just swallow all the smoke whole. I mean, seriously, I don't mind people risking their health to enjoy the intake of those chemicals, because it's the choice that they made even after knowing the effects of smoking, but I just wish they were not too kind and generous to share them with me when I'm not even asking. Sharing, in this case, is not caring at all.

Last edited by luke; 26-04-2011 at 10:37 AM.
luke is offline   Reply With Quote
ayja

#115 Old 26-04-2011 Default Re: Smoking

Not forgetting to mention:

Malaysians smoke nine billion sticks of illegal cigarettes every year

It has a higher content of tar and nicotine. And in it's our air, when we eat at the mamak, when we take a walk in the park. It's everywhere.

Ten-ants!
ayja is offline   Reply With Quote
KenT13

#116 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: Smoking

Originally Posted by ayja View Post
Not forgetting to mention:

Malaysians smoke nine billion sticks of illegal cigarettes every year

It has a higher content of tar and nicotine. And in it's our air, when we eat at the mamak, when we take a walk in the park. It's everywhere.
Haha, i wanted to post this yesterday
It's another World Record for Malaysia !!! something to be proud of?