Window to the World Discussions of global issues and latest news.

Eastern & Western Values

chenchow Male
ReComer

#1 Old 16-11-2003 Default Eastern & Western Values

As our country is advancing and progressing fast, it seems that our younger generation has caught on many of the negative elements. While I would not say that all negative elements come from West, what many Malaysians have learned from the West are those negative elements.

For those who study in the west, we see a number of good points in the west, that we should learn, like trust on others, encourage others, friendly even to strangers, responsibility to society (little vandalism,...), cleanliness... It may be a sweeping statement, but I think what the younger generations have caught on from the West are not that appropriate...

What do you guys think?
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
silverblue

#2 Old 16-11-2003 Default

chenchow, what negative elements from the west do you think youngsters today have adopted? give some examples and we'll have a clearer picture.. thanks!
silverblue is offline   Reply With Quote
kijal4

#3 Old 19-11-2003 Default Positive

Cleanliness is something we can emulate. Not just toilet, but maybe on street walk, we need less garbage. Although I have to admit KL is much cleaner now than a few years ago. Also to make river not a dumping ground. Western countries use river for recreational, some have classic river cruise package to view downtown, etc.

Friendliness? Maybe. Although I always think when American say Hi, it doesn't mean anything. It's more of something they used to do. It might as well be no greeting at all. But in KL, I saw, when it come right to it, we can be friendly and helpful. I have yet to see a blind guy being left alone trying to cross a road or trying to get into LRT.
kijal4 is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#4 Old 19-11-2003 Default

kijal4,

it is a very positive sign to see that KL is much cleaner now than a few years ago.. can't wait to go back and have a look...

yeah, i agree that the What's up? by the Americans do not mean anything, but if we could genuinely be nice to everyone, especially to those foreign tourists, it would be a tremendous boost to our foreign revenue...
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
CrAzyCow

#5 Old 19-11-2003 Default

heheh.. guess everybody also know about the fake greetings.. the "hey wassup" n he/she just walk pass u..

I like the western ppl for being open minded.. hate it when they think they are the greatest being on earth.

For our eastern values, we are too quite.. dun really voice out our opinions. Other than tht, can't think of anything else rite now.
CrAzyCow is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 19-11-2003 Default

western - open-minded + they seem to love learning, tidak segan bertanya
eastern - think too much of others (culture, religion, what abut the nighbours..bla..bla..bla..) and cukup payah nak bertanya even when tak tau...

hmm...am i right or am i right..hehehe

#7 Old 19-11-2003 Default

yeah i do think americans are kinda "fake" sometime. like my own experience, there was a white guy who asked how are you and of course i answered back but then one minute later he asked back the same question like as if he never saw me before. of course it's always good to be nice to others but not in the fake way.

western culture do have their good values which cannot be denied but they are not perfect also. they do have bad sides too. so, no need to think that westerners are damn good or whatever like some people do.

i personally like their open mindness which eastern culture lacks of.

it's the best if we can incorporate both culture in a nice way.

i just feel sad for those people who look down on their own culture and worship foreign value so much sometimes.
wwhong is offline   Reply With Quote
kijal4

#8 Old 19-11-2003 Default

Originally Posted by wwhong
yeah i do think americans are kinda "fake" sometime. like my own experience, there was a white guy who asked how are you and of course i answered back but then one minute later he asked back the same question like as if he never saw me before. of course it's always good to be nice to others but not in the fake way
The same exact thing happen to a close friend of mine, this time from a white guy in KL, haha! We were at this dinner function. And this white dude greeted my friend, "Hi, I'm Steve" and he left somewhere. A few minutes later he came back and said, "Hi, I'm Steve" - my friend answered, "Yeah, you said that just now"

Geez, how's that for being flaky and plactic/silicone, HAHA
kijal4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Super Moderator

#9 Old 19-11-2003 Default

Yup i have to agree with the fake, how you doing thingy.

Also i have to say it works fantabulously in Malaysia though, good way to meet new people.
Thirdshifter is offline   Reply With Quote

#10 Old 19-11-2003 Default

it happened to me once. And i was so mad, that when this guy came up to me and wantd to introduce himself, i said, "yep, your name is Matt and you're an Irish." Coz he told me before his name n his origin (he came from ireland n is an irishman) 8O

That shut him up for good. not that i don't like white ppl, i just don't like ppl who talk just for the sake of talking...what daa...