| Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships Everything about scholarships provided by the Public Services Department of Malaysia |
Venue: PICC, Putrajaya
Time: 2pm Course applied: Law Was supposed to be in the 3 p.m. - 4 p.m. slot (second group), but because two people from the first group were absent, I was shifted up to the 2 p.m.- 3 p.m. slot instead, so be early! My group consisted of one Malay boy (Architecture), one Chinese Boy (Accountancy), two Chinese girls including me (Accountancy and Law) and one Malay girl (Engineering). Our panel consisted of two people - one Malay man that works at UIA, and one Indian lady that works for the government. The panel was very, very friendly. Asked us whether we ate breakfast, how we slept last night... and then told us that only our introduction will be in BM, and the rest of the interview will be conducted in English. We were given 2 minutes each to introduce ourselves. After introductions, they questioned us one by one, according to our number. General things about the course we applied for, like why we applied for it and our capabilities in the related field. For example, the boy taking Architecture was asked 'Which party is to be held responsible should a building collapse?'. During my turn, the Malay man asked me what 'colour' lawyers were in the yin-and-yang symbol. I was thinking "...whaaaaaat?" And he went on to say that doctors are 'white' and lawyers are 'black' because they were always fighting each other. I went on to say that we should all co-operate and work together in order to get things done smoothly and that yin wouldn't exist without yang. He laughed and said that it was a good answer, as he was only trying to provoke me by saying that - so watch out! Then we had our group discussion - we had only one. The title was 'Technological advances and inventions have a great impact in the world. Choose one example and discuss its impact.' We pulled our chairs in a semicircle and allocated one 'technology' for each person - the internet, handphones, computers/PDAs, transportation/cars, and nuclear power. We gave both positive and negative impacts. In between, they asked us random little questions - "Who is our Deputy PM?" "Who is our Finance Minister?" "What is the voting age?" "What is the age of consent?" They also asked us to name one Minister of some Jabatan and none of us knew... and everyone just started laughing ![]() Last question, they gave us each 2 minutes to tell them why we should get the scholarship. Question time. I asked them how much weightage is given to the online 'psychology' test (eh, that was the only thing I could think of!) They weren't sure. Another asked when the results will be out, and they said around end of April/May (on the registration board I think they mentioned 3rd May?) Another question was whether we would be offered a course other than the one we applied for, and the answer is no. Yeeeah, I think that's about it It was quite fun, to be honest. Lots of laughing. Rating: Maybe... 7...? |
| The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to salmonhead For This Useful Post: |
another fren of mine inteview
place: picc time: 2pm day: 5/4/10 course: dentisry question asked: 1. something like if you were asked to change one thing in malaysia hospital, wat is it and why?? 2. why you choose tis course? 3. where will you see urself in 20 years time? the intro was conducted in bm...some of the questions were asked in eng and some in bm...not sure which is which...she say tat there is nothin much for u to prepare, coz u wont know wat they will ask...most important is be calm...dont be nervous...once you entered the room ofcuz you will feel nervous, but after awhile, it should be ok...and she also say tat the interviewer was quite frendly and nice...so there is nothing to be scare of...and the interviewer even make them to discuss coz they was judging on how they were discussing...not sure about other groups... good luck everyone including me...haha... Last edited by fallenangelxoxo; 07-04-2010 at 05:51 PM. |
| The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fallenangelxoxo For This Useful Post: |
Course Applied: architecture
Venue: kampus raja melewar, NS Experience: 5 people in my group 1) malay guy, korea engineering 2) me, architecture 3) indian guy, france engineering 4) malay girl, science (geology) 5) chinese girl, engineering Smile and greet the interviewers when you enter. Sit according to your number. The interviewers had a briefing with us. He said only 1500 will be chosen among 10000 candidates. The result depends on academic, co-curriculum, family background, interview and also the course you choose. He added that nobody wants to study veterinary science. It started with self introduction (in English). Talk about your name, school, family background, co-curriculum. Why do you choose your course? He mentioned to talk in English so please don't talk in Malay. A guy started with Malay and the interviewers have to repeat "In English please". Don't be nervous. Just give a brief intro. Our topic is "Relate green technology to your career" (in English). I had the points but not well organized. You really need to do some research for this part. Even if you said don't know, you still have to answer it. They never give another question, but they gave another chance for you to think deeply.The last topic (in BM) "Apakah kelebihan anda? Mengapakah JPA harus beri biasiswa kepada anda?". Talk about your qualities that make you outstanding among the rest. Don't talk for too long, they will cut halfway. At last, thank everyone of them and leave the room. Rating: 7/10 Advice/Additional info: Prepare for your course and career (what is your responsibility? how long do you need to finish the course? about professional qualification for career). And some info about environmental issues. Organize your points well. Don't be panic. Everything counts from the moment you enter the room. Be confident! An advice for girls: Baju kurung is the best. If you want to wear formal, tuck in your shirt and make sure your skirt is after your knee level. Don't wear mini skirt! And tie your hair nicely, don't leave your hair (for long hair). Wear shoes that cover your toes. All the best to you!
Last edited by yin2000; 07-04-2010 at 06:13 PM. |
| The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to yin2000 For This Useful Post: |
course applied: biotechnology
venue: sarawak date:7 april experience: 2 panels 5 ppl in a group my group: me , 3 engineering , 1 sains interview process- Actually its the same as above.... intro is in bm , mostly bm is used in our group question asked: why you choose the course? which country you wish to go? why? pendapat anda tentang isu 'khidmat untuk negara' N tats all~ haha =D just stay calm .... good luck n all the best~ Last edited by Garyo; 08-04-2010 at 12:09 PM. |
| The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Garyo For This Useful Post: |
This experience is from one of my friends, this link below: http://asyiqahmh.blogspot.com/2010/0...interview.html
=[(*The Three Rules of Work*)]= 1. Out of clutter, find simplicity. 2. From discord, find harmony. 3. In the middle of difficulty, lies opportunity. =[{Albert Einstein}]= Feel free to visit my blog here!!! Last edited by Nicholasng925; 07-04-2010 at 09:34 PM. |
Course Applied: German Engineering
Venue utrajaya, PICC, 7th April, 8am, Panel 7, 1st batch!![]() Experience: I arrived at the venue around 7.30 am?? I cant reli remember the time..I'm kinda sleepy now, so maybe there's something I can't remember clearly. Please forgive me if I missed out something. There's 25 ppl in each panel and I'm the 6th interviewee. When we signed for our attendance, the 4th girl haven't came. So I was called to join the 1st group to get in the interview room. When we were called, we submitted our photocopies of document they want. The other 4 ppl in my group were a chinese boy who's applying for engineering and he wanna do civil engineering, a malay girl and a chinese girl who chose accountancy, and a chinese girl who chose law. I gt no.5 tag from the clerk outside before I get in the interview room. So I was the last one to do my intro. Our panels included a malay lady, an indian lady and a malay man. I think the malay lady was the ketua as she spoke the most. She mentioned what they want for our intro like ur name, school u've studied previously, ur family status(family members, parents' job), and what course you've applied. Then the 1st question was done in BM. If I'm not mistaken, the questions were as below: 1. Kenapa kamu semua pilih untuk mengambil kursus yang kamu mahu di negara yang kamu pilih? 2. Why u wanna do this course in German since there's courses like that in local universities? ( This question was asked by the malay guy interviewer to me, I said I wanna do AERONAUTICAL ENGINEERING) 3. Since we pay a lot money for you guys to study at overseas if you guys got this scholarship, and everyone will face problems when they're alone overseas like home-sickness, cannot perform well in study and etc. So what will you guys do to overcome these problems?? 4. Can u state any qualities that a profession should have in them? 5. This question was threw out to me and the other guy who's applying for engineering course. "As a future engineer, tell me any comment that you have about anything in Petaling Street." I din take initiative to speak 1st because I have no idea what they want! The guy in my group said:"Actually I didn't go to Petaling Street that often, so..." "Alright, then we talk about the Sultan Abdul Samad building." "Emm..its design was like a mosque......." (I can't remember what he said but I just can remember this sentence. We're stunned at 1st when the panels threw this question.=.=) Then the malay lady looked at me, I started to speak. I said: "its a symbol of Malaysia." "So, anything else about the building?" "Emm..Actually I don't have any other comments or ideas about the building." The Malay lady just said "Oh, ok~" Then I saw the Indian lady beside her was smiling like she's going to burst in a laugh, then I just HOHOHO~ ![]() (I'm gonna ruin this interview!!![]() )6. So wat will you do with ur profession in the future to reduce the global warming? (This question is directed to all of us.) Rating: Duno how to rate it..Just dun rate it! haha Advice/Additional info: For the questions specialised for different course, I can remember a bit, just for reference laa k? For LAW: a)Tell me about the MALAYSIAN LEGAL SYSTEM. b)What is the function of SYARIAH COURT? For accountancy: What is the difference between the DEB and MEB. DEB was the DASAR EKONOMI BARU, MEB was xxxxxxx.( I forgot ad...XDXD...that new plan that our PM just announced not long ago which functioned to increase our ppl's income per kapita from USD7000 to USD15000.) After the accountancy applicants said their comments, the panels turned to us and asked us if we got any comment to speak out. The other 2 candidates spoke out their ideas. And when I wanna said mine, the panel changed questions ad. So, try to take initiatives if you really have good ideas about what the panel asked. But answer oni if they direct the question to everyone. And the to do thing is, just straight to the point and add oni some appropriate elaborations. They would like to hear a brief and strong point rather than a long but weak point even you can speak fluently and confidently. That's all I can share, if you guys have any questions wanna ask me, can private message me, as there may some incomplete part in my recalling now. I'm kinda blur now. I woke up at 5am, and haven't rest till now. Good luck to every recommers who're having their interview on 2moro and Friday! Last edited by freylifej; 07-04-2010 at 09:48 PM. |
| The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to freylifej For This Useful Post: |
Course applied : Science (mathematics)
Venue : UITM Larkin Date : 07 April 2010 Experience : My group consist of 1 female chinese ; science locally 2 male chinese ; tourism 3 me ; science 4 male malay ; engineering (i can't remember well) 5 male malay ; diploma tech in japan The interviewers (Panel 1) 1 an indian officer in Kementerian 2 a malay doctor 3 a malay jpa officer introduction in BM ( name , school , family background ) they will ask you more if they want to know more and sometimes they disrupt our intro then we continued back ) 1st : why you deserved this scholarship ? (something like this , i can't remember well) we should answered this according to our numbers. then they shot us here . they shot me deeply about the course until they asked , what are the things that you are going to study in calculus ? what is the uses of calculus ? haha i didn't make a research about this so i can't answer this question . i said , i don't know about this but if i've been given a time , i would do some research on this matter . (a lil bit disappointed) ![]() 2nd : they asked one by one . the doctor called my name and asked me , apa pendapat awak mengenai kahwin sambil belajar ? then i gave my opinion . then he asked , so how about you ? then i answered bla bla bla , then they said , waaah macaam da rancaang je semua ni haha then all of us were laughing aduui ( they asked others about others questions but im really sorry because i can't remember, aduuh looks like i'm facing short-term memory syndrom eghh ) 3rd : apakah pendapat anda semua tentang anak-anak sekarang yang telah berjaya tetapi tidak mempedulikan ibu bapa mereka sehingga sanggup menghantar mereka ke rumah orang-orang tua ? 4rd : mengapakah pelajar-pelajar lain di luar sana tidak berjaya dalam pelajaran dan tidak mendapat peluang seperti anda ? bagaimana cara mereka belajar ? adakah kerana masalah sosial yang berlaku ? adakah anda bersetuju dengan pendapat ini dan apakah pandangan anda ? (something like this lah hehe) these were open questions so that everybody can answer it but everyone must have 1 point for it . but i think they didn't care much as long as you can voice out your opinion and speak confidently (: 5th : ok , 'they called my name' (again me haisyh) jika kami memberi awak peluang untuk ke luar negara dan terdapat lagi satu kerusi kosong untuk tempat tersebut , siapakah antara jejaka2 ini yang akan awak pilih untuk bersama-sama dengan awaak ? ha ? i was so like ? ? peelik3 . then i said , satu keputusan yg sukar untuk dilakukan tapi saya tak sampai haati haha aduuuhh then they said , awak kena pilih seoraang jee . the the jpa officer said , pilihlah yg hensem tuu haha seriously we laughed a lot in here 6th : questions that we want to ask them but then none of us were asking , as i think the interviewers have said everything during the intro . then all the questions that i've been prepared just go like that huhu overall , they were very kind , sporting , making jokes here and there . and it was not as i thought (: The whole interview was 80% BM, 20% English for my group. Advice / Additional info : The questions that they asked were mainly about our career . and they asked us very deeply . so please please and please prepare about the course that you have applied very well and you have determined where you exactly want to further your study . you should impress them . speak confidently (: good luck for the rest ! i hope this can help you (: |
| The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to sindaDila For This Useful Post: |
| Bookmarks |