Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate

Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

llbbss8149 Male

#31 Old 05-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

I scored B+ in PA
A in Maths T
A in Physics
A- in Chemistry CGPA of 3.75(STPM 2009)

MUET band 4 (210/300)
writing (67/90)
I chose E&E as my 1st choice and chemical engineering as my 2nd choice
May i know whether i have a chance to be accepted by NUS?
llbbss8149 is offline   Reply With Quote
wcing

#32 Old 05-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by XterNalz View Post
My NUS application has got nothing to do with local Foundation course!! Just treat me like someone who has taken STPM or A-level as a private candidate. This road is not easy, don't be like me. It is better to enroll in Form 6 or A-level if you would like to apply to NUS.

*I didn't have a choice.
Er, treat you? Or you were really one? Actually I thought you took MMU Foundation and now trying to apply to NUS for your desired course. Maybe I had mistaken that. And which road do u mean is not easy?
I'm sorry I can't get your drift here probably because I'm not sure what situation you are currently in. (mind to share?)

Besides Form6 or A-level, there isn't any other way to get into NUS? @.@
(hopefully those seniors currently enrolling in NUS may provide me a better answer)
wcing is offline   Reply With Quote
XterNalz Male

#33 Old 05-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by wcing View Post
Er, treat you? Or you were really one? Actually I thought you took MMU Foundation and now trying to apply to NUS for your desired course. Maybe I had mistaken that. And which road do u mean is not easy?
I'm sorry I can't get your drift here probably because I'm not sure what situation you are currently in. (mind to share?)

Besides Form6 or A-level, there isn't any other way to get into NUS? @.@
(hopefully those seniors currently enrolling in NUS may provide me a better answer)
Yes, I'm no doubt a MMU foundation student but please treat me as someone who has taken A-level/STPM as a private candidate. I'm not applying to NUS with my MMU qualification.

STPM or A-level would be the ideal pre-u to get into NUS.

#34 Old 06-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by day_dreamer View Post
From the news I've managed to gather, the Head of Department of Biological Science is planning to introduce a new specialization , Biophysics. Apparently he's a biophysics professor from MIT few years ago and he's not content with the lack of studies in biophysics in NUS.

For those intending to do life sciences should apply under Science and you will get to declare your major after you get matriculated.

Also, I would like to highlight an interesting part of your life being a NUS student which is the UROPS project. It's basically a project that allows undergraduates to take up a research project and conduct the research under the supervision of a professor. It's great !!

You mean Prof Paul Matsudaira? He was my Freshman Seminar lecturer last semester! He's really good and our standard is really not up to his standard.

Originally Posted by sofiazee View Post
I'm applying for NUS pharmacy, and apparently it's difficult to enter x__O I'm a Science student all along. And yesss I agree with you, about the language, hahaha. Passion do override though! And thanks
Hey there! I'm from Pharmacy Hope to see you next AY!

Originally Posted by llbbss8149 View Post
I scored B+ in PA
A in Maths T
A in Physics

MUET band 4 (210/300)
writing (67/90)
With those results, you should be able to. I have a few friends who scored 3.67 who got accepted for E&E. But then again, admission selection is quite unpredictable and it changes every year.

Last edited by cheanrocks; 06-03-2010 at 12:08 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
cheanrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
supergoh Male

#35 Old 06-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by cheanrocks View Post

With those results, you should be able to. I have a few friends who scored 3.67 who got accepted for E&E. But then again, admission selection is quite unpredictable and it changes every year.

If I am not mistaken, some big companies such as Motorola have closed shop in Singapore.Think twice before choosing your course of study.

Just a word of advice.You can choose not to listen.
supergoh is offline   Reply With Quote
day_dreamer Male

#36 Old 06-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by cheanrocks View Post
You mean Prof Paul Matsudaira? He was my Freshman Seminar lecturer last semester! He's really good and our standard is really not up to his standard.

Hey there! I'm from Pharmacy Hope to see you next AY!

Yeah ! His expectation is damn high !!

I've went to him asking for a review of my UROPS Level 2000 research project and kena bombarded like hell...
cheanrocks Female

#37 Old 06-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by day_dreamer View Post
Yeah ! His expectation is damn high !!

I've went to him asking for a review of my UROPS Level 2000 research project and kena bombarded like hell...
Even so, don't worry, the outcome will be good. Last sem when I did my Freshman Sem final project, all of us had to do so many drafts until he was satisfied. He just wants us to know what he expects and how students in MIT are compared to here.

Good luck for UROPS
cheanrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
kaiyi Female

#38 Old 07-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Anybody apply NUS financial aid?

2.5Explanation on how your family supports itself (applicable only to those with ‘$0’ income).
Please submit Declaration Form B and refer to Section B of the Application Summary Document (available after you have submitted your application) for the relevant documents required.
[100 to 200 words]

does this mean only those 0 income need to submit Form B or all the applicants are required to do so?
kaiyi is offline   Reply With Quote
llbbss8149 Male

#39 Old 07-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

ZERO income only
llbbss8149 is offline   Reply With Quote
daffodils Female

#40 Old 07-03-2010 Default Re: All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)

Originally Posted by llbbss8149 View Post
I scored B+ in PA
A in Maths T
A in Physics

MUET band 4 (210/300)
writing (67/90)
For your information two years ago, I have one student with CGPA 3.92 Muet band 4 got rejected for Chemical Engineering but another student with CGPA 3.84 Muet band 5 managed to squeeze through and was offered the same course.

For chemical engineering this year, with the stiff competition, you have to be the best of the best going by the indicative grade profile given this year for local students

http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/gradeprofi...ramme-igp.html

You may get a slot in E&E. Dont give up hope. Push your luck.
daffodils is offline   Reply With Quote