Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > SPM & STPM

SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

STPM Biology Bug Catching

Aelean

#1 Old 05-10-2008 Default STPM Biology Bug Catching

Heya everyone,
I'm currently in Lower 6 in Petaling Jaya and I have this Bio project which requires me to catch and preserve insects.
My friends and I are planning on the project and would like to know if there are any good locations to for bug catching.
I hope all ex-F6 Bio seniors can contribute some tips here and also to all Lower 6 students currently doing this project,
It's buggy time!
Aelean is offline   Reply With Quote
lawteoh Male

#2 Old 06-10-2008 Default

Cameron's the best! Just go there during the november/december holidays n hv fun doing it. Btw, i thought this thread have been discussed before? hmm...
lawteoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Aelean

#3 Old 06-10-2008 Default

Aaa I tried to search for topics discussing this but came up with nothing though.
Anyway,
Cameron is rather far away,
If my group were to go there we will either have to take a bus or get someone's parent to take us there which somehow kills the fun I think.
But Cameron should be a good place.
What about Fraser's, FRIM, Bukit Tinggi or Taman Pertanian (Shah Alam)?
Places I can drive to hehe.
wilson

#4 Old 25-10-2008 Default

I am in lower six this year too. We had gone to FRIM to catch the bugs but we did not have very good return. We only managed to catch insects like butterflies and dragonflies. That's all. We did not see many species of insects there. So, if you have other places to go, try not to choose FRIM. Another reason is that we are not allowed to catch insects from FRIM actually.

I am not sure if you have heard of it before. We can actually buy insects like beetle species of larger size. So, do not worry if you can't catch all the required insects for your project.

Let's keep our fingers crossed that we can catch big, nice insects . Cheers!

#5 Old 17-12-2008 Default Re: STPM Biology Bug Catching

haha..juz watch this post..well, im oso a form six student tis year..actually, if u r brave enuf..u can juz take senior's collection past year bugs..
this, first u can save money travelling to cameron (and money to buy bugs) if u can't catch..
second, ur energy..u noe u have to chase those bugs (and they'll never stood still waiting for you to catch em' rite??)
third, u never feel creepy to touch those bugs..(p/s especially cockroaches which will gif out unpleasent smell when u disect them)
finally if u r planning to take (don't steal) ask your group to make better relationship wif ur bio teacher n the lab assistant...
and u'll get those bugs as many as u wan
graham is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 17-12-2008 Default Re: STPM Biology Bug Catching

I shouldn't really teach you to 'cheat' but if you can't find enough bugs, there are shops that sell them. There's one in Gombak. But if you want to catch them, Cameron Highlands is a good place to try. You can also get the more common types of insects from grassy areas in your neighbourhood. I admit that insects are hard to find in town areas.

jayden is offline   Reply With Quote
sugarspice Female

#7 Old 18-12-2008 Default Re: STPM Biology Bug Catching

I have done my collection. Mine is due next year, on January.

I caught some from a recreational park which is actually a hillside.

Some they flew into my house waiting for me to catch them. >.<
sugarspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Aelean

#8 Old 06-01-2009 Default Re: STPM Biology Bug Catching

Well it's good to see the response.
I've did all the projects already.
But still need alot of tidying up.
The bugs I've are from all over the place.
Since my team members bring them to me.
Butterflies are aplenty in Taman Jaya and Bukit Gasing is a sorry excuse to look for bugs.
Hope we get through this together.
pwkeat66

#9 Old 21-08-2012 Default Re: STPM Biology Bug Catching

Hi everyone, If you need any help in your biology insect Project, you can visit the below link and contact them.

http://www.facebook.com/phuahentomol...ettimonster=ts
pwkeat66 is offline   Reply With Quote
zanyzephyr Male

#10 Old 21-08-2012 Default Re: STPM Biology Bug Catching

I was an ex STPMer 2010. So in our lower six we went around Subang Ria Park as well as Parks in Kota Kemuning for our insect collection. We had a friend whose hometown's in Cameron so we managed to get quite a number of stag beetles. You should also get your plant samplings as well when you go for your insect trips to save time.

You can try sneaking into Bukit Cahaya,Shah Alam down the Federal Highway(assuming you can drive) though I think it's prohibited. Their own collection was impressively preserved, but you can try to get smaller bottles into your bag and sneak you way through.
zanyzephyr is offline   Reply With Quote