Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships

1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

jin_calvin Male

#1 Old 18-06-2011 Default 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

PUTRAJAYA: Top SPM scorers who did not get Public Service Department (PSD) scholarships will be given 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB) grants to study in local public and private universities.
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz said Monday that 500 special education grants would be disbursed by 1MDB to rejected applicants.
He said that 300 of those scholarships would be given to bumiputra students while 200 would go to non-bumiputra students.
Priority would be given to applicants who got 8A+ but failed to get a PSD scholarship, he said.
However, bumiputra applicants from Sabah dan Sarawak with 6A+ and 5A+ would be considered, taking into consideration their parents' income and where they went to school, he told reporters after chairing the IMDB Scholarship meeting with representatives from Barisan Nasional's component parties at the Parliament building.
?Only the applicants from Sabah and Sarawak will be given greater flexibility on academic requirements. Bumiputra applicants from the peninsular have to comply with the pre-conditions academic and parents' income,? he said.
Those who had received other scholarships would not be considered, he added.
The scholarships to public universities would be worth RM7,500 a year and scholarships for study of critical courses in private universities would be worth RM15,000 a year while grants for non-critical courses would be worth RM7,500, he said.
PSD would meet Tuesday to shortlist the candidates and the final list would be presented to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak before it was announced, he said.

:Quoted in thestar online

Can i know if anyone had actually offered this scholarship. Is this a full scholarship or juz a grant? As I failed to secure a jpa scholarship, this might be the only other scholarship there is for critical courses...
jin_calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
frostbyte13 Male

#2 Old 18-06-2011 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

Just for info, what is your results ? And I assume your appeal failed right ? What course are you hoping for ?
frostbyte13 is offline   Reply With Quote
jin_calvin Male

#3 Old 19-06-2011 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

7A+, 3A, failed, dentistry..
jin_calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Garfield93 Male

#4 Old 19-06-2011 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

any news about it then?

Q:What is the definition of human beings?

A:Human being is a creature who cuts trees,make them into papers and write 'Go Green,Save the Earth' on the same paper
Garfield93 is offline   Reply With Quote
frostbyte13 Male

#5 Old 19-06-2011 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

Originally Posted by jin_calvin View Post
7A+, 3A, failed, dentistry..
Maybe your economic status will help you secure something ? Not sure, because it's pretty well stated there that those who failed to get a PSD. Are you like me, rejected the offer then appealed and fail? Or you didn't get an offer in the first place ? If you are the latter, you should have a shot

Hope you get it then. All the best, I sure can't get anyways haha.
The Following User Says Thank You to frostbyte13 For This Useful Post:
lze Female

#6 Old 21-06-2011 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

any bond for this scholarship?
lze is offline   Reply With Quote
frostbyte13 Male

#7 Old 21-06-2011 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

Originally Posted by lze View Post
any bond for this scholarship?
I think there isn't if I recall. But also because this scheme was newly thought-up, I doubt any institution regardless private or not will give you a free-ride no matter what predicament you may be in.
piercemendoza Female

#8 Old 19-07-2012 Default Re: 1MDB grants for 500 top scorers who failed to get PSD scholarships

This grants are preferring the students who have got best results. Less chances for the students with 6 or 5 A+. The competition will be students who have got 8 A+.