Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

Racism in Malaysia?

marczeman Male

#41 Old 17-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Originally Posted by Young View Post
He got rejected by JPA, Petronas and Matriculation and had to resort to Form 6.
So then doesn't that speak for his credentials? lol if he really was such an overachiever, then by your logic, since he got rejected all around, it would mean that all awarding bodies only go for above-average-yet-not-exceptional candidates?

Anyway, yes, I've observed that those in matrics (excluding those on JPA) aren't exactly the crème de la crème, myself included. I only had 6A+, 3A, 1B+. Nothing to shout about. But I don't personally know anybody who did significantly better and didn't at least score a JPA interview (if you failed there then sorry, but your chance was had).

#42 Old 17-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Originally Posted by marczeman View Post
So then doesn't that speak for his credentials? lol if he really was such an overachiever, then by your logic, since he got rejected all around, it would mean that all awarding bodies only go for above-average-yet-not-exceptional candidates?
I never said anything about other bodies being bad. JPA and Petronas at least have SOME pattern to their selections in trying to select top candidates but I am fully aware that these are still scholarships and rejection is very likely. However, as you have mentioned, matriculation is an iffy issue. But let's not dwell on that.

#43 Old 17-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Anyway, yes, I've observed that those in matrics (excluding those on JPA) aren't exactly the crème de la crème, myself included. I only had 6A+, 3A, 1B+. Nothing to shout about. But I don't personally know anybody who did significantly better and didn't at least score a JPA interview (if you failed there then sorry, but your chance was had).
The fact is that not all overachievers will obtain a scholarship. Sometimes this is due to too many factors:
a) awarding bodies want to give scholarships to as many 'types of students'
- Overachievers
- Students from less fortunate backgrounds
- Students who state explicit intent on returning back to the country
- etc. etc.
b) too many overachievers, not enough room in their 'quota'.

Sometimes it's all about 'fit' and luck. There are excellent students who get chosen by scholarship bodies and there are bad students who get chosen by scholarship bodies. That is to say, those who get rejected out right by scholarship bodies are not necessarily bad or inadequate and it also does not mean that awarding bodies only take average-not-exceptional students.

It's not as black and white as you paint it to be. All this is EXTREMELY nuanced.

Nobody will ever win the Battle of the Sexes. There's just too much fraternizing with the enemy.
~Henry Kissinger

(looking for people to parler français! PM me!)
ayjiahui is offline   Reply With Quote
marczeman Male

#44 Old 17-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Originally Posted by Young View Post
I never said anything about other bodies being bad. JPA and Petronas at least have SOME pattern to their selections in trying to select top candidates but I am fully aware that these are still scholarships and rejection is very likely. However, as you have mentioned, matriculation is an iffy issue. But let's not dwell on that.
Originally Posted by ayjiahui View Post
The fact is that not all overachievers will obtain a scholarship. Sometimes this is due to too many factors:
a) awarding bodies want to give scholarships to as many 'types of students'
- Overachievers
- Students from less fortunate backgrounds
- Students who state explicit intent on returning back to the country
- etc. etc.
b) too many overachievers, not enough room in their 'quota'.

Sometimes it's all about 'fit' and luck. There are excellent students who get chosen by scholarship bodies and there are bad students who get chosen by scholarship bodies. That is to say, those who get rejected out right by scholarship bodies are not necessarily bad or inadequate and it also does not mean that awarding bodies only take average-not-exceptional students.

It's not as black and white as you paint it to be. All this is EXTREMELY nuanced.
Yeah okay, but I was just trying to tell Young that maybe they're not offered matriculation spots because they're eligible for something a lot better. And indeed they do get called up for interviews with this and that. If they strike out at this stage (interviews), surely nobody can say that they were handed zero scholarship opportunities. Why should they be offered matrics only for it to become their backup plans should they fail elsewhere? Maybe the way they (gov) see it, the really good ones are meant to be snapped up by the more prestigious bodies, and matrics is for those slightly below the cut.

Whether or not this is a good idea....

Lol anyway, I was just offering a possible explanation for the gov's reluctance to offer seats at matrics to the super students. None of us believe it's as clear cut as this: http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost....0&postcount=20

#45 Old 18-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Originally Posted by plawks View Post
zomg you actually know them! Recently I have been visiting the matriculation division at Putrajaya as well to get my certs officially translated by them. I saw them pasting on their walls 'rayian untuk kemasukan program matrikulasi telah ditutup secara rasmi' or something like that, forgot the wordings.

Well this is unlucky but when there's a will there's a way so ask them to do their best in whatever their going for.
I only know the guy on the left in the picture. Owh that's such an official statement? Haha you know what? Someone spread a message among them claiming that there is a second appeal, i.e. go find more influential people (politicians)! -.- Whatever, I will advise my friend. Thanks

P/S: marczeman, I think you wrote a review about local matriculation in a blog right?

Last edited by tanjore123; 18-06-2012 at 12:27 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
tanjore123 is offline   Reply With Quote
marczeman Male

#46 Old 18-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Originally Posted by tanjore123 View Post
P/S: marczeman, I think you wrote a review about local matriculation in a blog right?
Lol yeah, are you currently enrolled at matrics?

#47 Old 18-06-2012 Talking Re: Racism in Malaysia?

for now i'm in KMS selangor
from what i can conclude.
i found only LESS than 10 Bumis
in KMS selangor(including myself)
which is the minority of the minority
Chinese topple over indians.
Malays topple over chinese
Malays are more than any other races in KMS selangor
but bumi's are....the minority of the minority
ofcoz since its Peninsular Malaysia..
KMS labuan, maybe Bumi topple over chinese,
Malay topple over chinese
chinese topple indians
simply said.
Sarawak and sabah SPM leavers will be directed to go to KMS Labuan?
How i end up in KMS selangor?
I pINDah to Shah alam and straight away change mah address
then i got selected to KMS Selangor

for reading only..
so BUmi's are still no really accepted in Matrics
Apart from KMS Labuan that is dedicated to it
From my point of view
Advancing is nevertheless s0it,
Embracing is saidly to say is also s0it,
However, Living the Life is never a s0it!
tenbokkennis is offline   Reply With Quote
tanjore123 Female

#48 Old 18-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Lol yeah, are you currently enrolled at matrics?
Nope. I didn't apply for matrics at all. Your blog post is very imformative. Great job!
tanjore123 is offline   Reply With Quote

#49 Old 19-06-2012 Default Re: Racism in Malaysia?

Originally Posted by tenbokkennis View Post
for now i'm in KMS selangor
from what i can conclude.
i found only LESS than 10 Bumis
in KMS selangor(including myself)
which is the minority of the minority
Chinese topple over indians.
Malays topple over chinese
Malays are more than any other races in KMS selangor
but bumi's are....the minority of the minority
ofcoz since its Peninsular Malaysia..
KMS labuan, maybe Bumi topple over chinese,
Malay topple over chinese
chinese topple indians
simply said.
Sarawak and sabah SPM leavers will be directed to go to KMS Labuan?
How i end up in KMS selangor?
I pINDah to Shah alam and straight away change mah address
then i got selected to KMS Selangor

for reading only..
so BUmi's are still no really accepted in Matrics
Apart from KMS Labuan that is dedicated to it
From my point of view
I ws at 1st confused withd word bumi tat u were referin 2 since malays r oso bumi. thn i realise tat u r tryin 2 say bumi as bumi sabah and sarawak. Well, you are right since they only said tat 90% of matrix r allocated to bumi, they never said how many is allocated 2 the malay bumi and d the other bumis. How about the matrix in Sarawak? Thr r less bumi in peninsula of malaysia is due 2 expensive flight. It's jz a hypothesis.