Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

ASEAN Scholarships and Singapore

#11 Old 18-06-2004 Default

hi ben.... u know me... and i know u....
i'm ur junior.... both in SU and in AJ....

how's IMU.... 2 hours of class everyday huh...

ok....i'm not here to complain about AJ or ASEAN.... just wanna give my POV....

and ElansarGelmir... not only VJcians have the spirit to reject JPA scholarship and choose to stay in Singapore, ok? they are such brave AJCians too.... even my year...

ok.... if u wanna say that it is fun.... then, pls tell us wat u like abt it.... the CCAs... and the CCAs.... and wat else??

i too think that the CCAs is the only thing that keep me alive in Singapore... when i leave Singapore for JPA, i miss 2 things.... CCAs and my frens...

other than that?? hmm.... nothing much...

oh yar.... and i miss the moment of catching caterpillars in my food back in the hostel...
i found caterpillars in my vegetables.... twice....

mass dances, cheers.... it is fun at first.... becoz u can't find much things like this in Malaysia.... but after the first Orientation, the 2nd orientation is so so trite...
cheers??? not again.... it's nothing but boring
mass dance???... it is only fun when u have the mass...
DecentMerson is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#12 Old 20-06-2004 Default

Originally Posted by Archmagus
I think this is rather dependant on the CCA concerned itself. I think the Students Council perhaps are allowed more responsibilities and independance. Many CCA's (at least in AJ) do not in my opinion have the 'trust' of the school admin. There's always a teacher chippin here and there and lookin into this and demanding that. In fact, the CCA's we had back in secondary school in M'sia had more independance and the school activities were largely run with minimal teacher interference, unlike in AJ.
Not only the SCs, i think... the concerts by the drama clubs and musical ensembles... the Career Talk... Fun fair... CIP programmes... There are minimal teachers interruptions unless things go out of control. At least this is what i felt compared to my secondary school coz my teachers always dun want to do big and fun things, just keep them low profile and simple. So organizing all this helped me to learn to accept big responsibilities and to work as a team with others. Perhaps it varies from a JC to another JC.

Originally Posted by DM
ok.... if u wanna say that it is fun.... then, pls tell us wat u like abt it.... the CCAs... and the CCAs.... and wat else??
Fun? Did i say Singapore is nothing but fun? Nope, i said i did many fun stuffs... and my life there is very meaningful... for the first time, i did what i dun think i can do back in my schools... i learnt lots of new experiences... have fellowships with hostelmates (heck, even some of us in ATU are not close-knitted to one another). and again, it depends on how u look at it. Remember when u first came to INTEC, you were very ANTI singapore too... however, now u are much better

My fun times? Hehe... Sentosa island trip with my fellow CT council (enjoy riding tandem bikes), rollerblading in ECP (LOL! can count how many times i fell, and landed on my butt), PE and cross country along the beach, having fun teasing the tutors (depend on which tutors lar), enjoy working out in gyms while mugging, celebrating V day in schools, principal cancelled lessons and ask us to cheer for school team, play prank calls (ok, that one insaf liao, janji tak buat dee), movie marathon in Orchard road as late as 3 am, hanged around Orchard road until 6 am, board the first MRT to hostel, and tried sneaking into the hostel on new year eve/school concerts/friends birthday, pre-U seminar!!!!, getting worried if we can catch the last bus at 12.01 am, running to school every morning, and of course, MASS DANCEs!!!

#13 Old 20-06-2004 Default

hey... i am anti Singapore in a way... but not anti Singapore in everything...

anyway, i dun think that i have change... maybe u think that i was very anti Singapore, but now, after knowing me longer and better, only u know that i'm not that very anti Singapore.... kekeke

sorry for the tongue twisting sentence...
DecentMerson is offline   Reply With Quote
BenLo

#14 Old 21-06-2004 Default

decentmerson, if you were referring to me i think you got the wrong guy, im younger than you

well, when i set this topic up, was super anti aj. not to say im not now, but once you decided you're gonna stay, best to knuckle down and get to it.

and im sorry to say..mass dance and cheering are quite honestly top ranked among my 'most hated things about singapore' list. i guess its unique to me, most of my friends here seem to like it (now dont deny it archmagus!) lol but i really cant stand standing there and doing cheers which kinda bore me, not to mention i cant dance worth nuts and i like to forge bonds in more...ordinary ways like talking and going etc. urrgghhh!!! polar bear!!!! noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo not polar bear...played more lame games in orientation than ive ever played in my life

orientation 1 was...tiring and very blah for me...couldnt bring myself to attend orientation 2. but i do like singapore as a country unto itself, the neatness and reliability, not to mention the shopping still figuring out how to cope with the school system, but i have faith that i will find a way
BenLo is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#15 Old 21-06-2004 Default

We can't deny that their public transport is rather more efficient if compared that of Malaysia's. Once you come back to Malaysia (unless you are driving), you will miss not having to wait for the bus for more than 30 minutes, dun have to queue up at the KTM station just to purchase some tickets and try to slot in the tickets into the machine, and other stuffs... i didn't do much shopping in Singapore (what to do? no money what... unlike my roomate who frequent Sun Tech and Orchard every week)....

Originally Posted by DM
hey... i am anti Singapore in a way...
Originally Posted by Archmagus
I'm also a Malaysian AJCian and I have my share of dissatisfactions too,
Originally Posted by BenLo
well, when i set this topic up, was super anti aj.
Aren't you guys from the same JC? No wonder you guys share the same abhorrence for Singapore...

DM, you did no change? Hmmm... Remember what you said about Bridge when i asked you to play? What was your remark? Dun want lar, Singapore game

and now look who's having his share of the fun of playing Bridge? LOL!! trust me ler, you are not that anti Singapore now liao lar...

#16 Old 21-06-2004 Default

Any AJcians know this grandsenior/great grand senior name Chan Kent Tze? How's he nhow?

#17 Old 09-01-2012 Default Re: ASEAN Scholarships and Singapore

hi! while this is not pertaining to AJC per se, I am a recently graduated asean scholar. and i have just set up a blog that has information pertaining to the asean scholarship. visit here! ;) aseanscholarstory.blogspot.com
klakhor is offline   Reply With Quote
deragoku Male

#18 Old 18-04-2012 Default Re: ASEAN Scholarships and Singapore

I love being considered began to study, do cheerleading, track and field representatives of the JC, the opportunity to run in leadership positions. I like the ASEAN Community, love, caring part of the n support each n, each of us gave each other.